

Memorandum

To: Governing Council

Academic Board Business Board

University Affairs Board

UTM and UTSC Campus Councils

College of Electors Council of Presidents

Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs

Presidents of APUS, GSU, UTSU (SAC), UTMSU and SCSU

President, University of Toronto Faculty Association

Presidents of Employee Unions

University of Toronto Alumni Association Board of Directors

From: Anwar Kazimi, Chief Returning Officer

Date: January 10, 2022

Subject: Call for Nominations: 2022 Elections - Governing Council and its bodies

Please distribute widely.

Nominations for election to seats on the Governing Council and its bodies are now being accepted until 5:00 p.m. on Friday, January 21, 2022.

Please encourage administrative staff, teaching staff, and students whom you feel could make a valuable contribution to University governance to consider running as a candidate in the upcoming elections.

Prospective candidates are advised to review the *Elections Guidelines 2022* at the following website: https://governingcouncil.utoronto.ca/elections. These *Guidelines* provide important information regarding election procedures, nominator and nominee eligibility requirements, campaign principles, allowable campaign expenses, etc.

A summary of the work of the Governing Council and the Academic Board, key election period dates, and a summary of seats open for election are provided below. Comprehensive information about the Governing Council and the Academic Board is available at: https://governingcouncil.utoronto.ca/governance-bodies.

Additional information about serving on the Governing Council or the Academic Board may be obtained by contacting the Chief Returning Officer, Mr. Anwar Kazimi

(<u>anwar.kazimi@utoronto.ca</u>) or the Deputy Returning Officer, Mr. Patrick McNeill (<u>patrick.mcneill@utoronto.ca</u>).

Thank you.

Governing Council

The Governing Council is the senior governing body of the University responsible for overseeing the academic, business, and student affairs of the University. Membership includes the Chancellor, the President, 8 alumni, 12 teaching staff, 8 students, 2 administrative staff, 16 government appointees, and 2 Presidential appointees. Members of the Governing Council serve as volunteers.

Governors are collectively and individually stewards of the University and are asked to contribute to decisions that affect the University's current and future achievements. Not only do elected governors contribute to the advancement of the University's goals and objectives, they have an opportunity to find out a great deal about university issues and processes, such as, institutional budgeting, strategic planning, and academic and non-academic policy making. The Governing Council is responsible for overseeing the University's strategic direction, finances, human resources, capital expenditures and infrastructure, academic quality, and the student experience.

Nominations will be accepted for 8 students, 1 administrative staff and 4 teaching staff seats between Monday, January 10, 2022 and Friday, January 21, 2022.

- 4 full-time undergraduate student seats, each for a one-year term (July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023)
- 2 part-time undergraduate student seats, each for a one-year term (July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023)
- 2 graduate student seats, each for a one-year term (July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2023)
- 1 administrative staff seat for a three-year term (July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2025)
- 4 teaching staff seats, each for a three-year term (July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2025)

Academic Board

The Academic Board is composed of 115 members, 51 of whom are elected teaching staff. The Board is responsible for such matters as admissions and awards policies; establishment of new academic programs; establishment, termination, or restructuring of academic units; academic appointments policy; budget guidelines and annual budgets; capital plans and projects; curriculum and academic regulations; academic discipline; and research policy.

Nominations for the following 16 teaching staff seats will be accepted between Monday, January 10, 2022 and Friday, January 21, 2022, each for a three-year term (July 1, 2022 to June 30, 2025):

- Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering: 1 seat
- John H. Daniels Faculty of Architecture, Landscape and Design: 1 seat
- Faculty of Arts and Science: 5 seats

- Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education: 1 seat Rotman School of Management: 1 seat Temerty Faculty of Medicine: 3 seats Ontario Institute for Studies in Education: 1 seat

- Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work: 1 seat
- University of Toronto Mississauga: 1 seat University of Toronto Scarborough: 1 seat