

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Meric S. Gertler, CM, FRSC, FBA, FAcSS

President

To: Staff in the VPRISI Portfolio

Governing Council Academic Board Business Board

University Affairs Board UTM Campus Council UTSC Campus Council

Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs

Professionals and Managerial Staff

Confidential Staff President of UTFA

Presidents of Employee Unions

Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU

President, University of Toronto Alumni Association (UTAA)

From: Professor Meric Gertler, President

Date: September 24, 2021

Re: President's Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice-President,

Research and Innovation, and Strategic Initiatives

On August 20, 2021, I <u>announced</u> that Professor Ted Sargent would be stepping down as Vice-President, Research and Innovation, and Strategic Initiatives effective December 31, 2021.

Following a <u>call for nominations</u>, I am pleased to announce that the membership of the Advisory Committee, which I will chair, is as follows:

- Professor Christine Allen, Associate Vice-President and Vice-Provost, Strategic Initiatives
- Professor Joshua Barker, Vice-Provost, Graduate Research & Education and Dean, School of Graduate Studies
- Ms Judith Chadwick, Assistant Vice-President, Research Services
- Professor Irena Creed, Vice-Principal, Research and Innovation, UTSC
- Ms Samantha Ing-Esteves, doctoral candidate, Department of Molecular Genetics, Temerty Faculty of Medicine
- Professor Ramin Farnood, Vice-Dean, Research, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
- Professor Alison Keith, Director, Jackman Humanities Institute
- Professor Lisa Robinson, Vice-Dean, Strategy and Operations, Temerty Faculty of Medicine

- Professor Suzanne L. Stewart, Academic Advisor on Indigenous Research, Office of the Vice-President and Provost, Director of the Waakebiness-Bryce Institute for Indigenous Health, Associate Professor, Division of Social & Behavioural Health Sciences, Dalla Lana School of Public Health
- Professor Lisa Strug, Director, Data Sciences Institute; Departments of Statistical Sciences and Computer Science, Faculty of Arts and Science; and Senior Scientist in the Genetics and Genome Biology program at the Hospital for Sick Children
- Professor Melanie Woodin, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science
- Dr. Bradly Wouters, Executive Vice-President, Science and Research, University Health Network
- Mr. Yung Wu, CEO, MaRS Discovery District
- Dr. Nadina Jamison, Chief Strategy Officer, Office of the President (non-voting, ex officio)

In addition, following a formal Request for Proposals and a robust selection process, we have engaged the firm of Odgers Berndtson to assist the Advisory Committee in its work.

The Advisory Committee is interested in receiving advice on priorities that the Committee should consider for the mandate for the next Vice-President, Research and Innovation, and Strategic Initiatives and qualities that should be sought in the next Vice-President to ensure execution of the mandate. Submissions should be sent by **5:00 p.m. on Friday, October 1** using the online form available at https://uoft.me/VPRISIAdvice2021. Responses will be confidential to the Committee. Comments may also be submitted in confidence to our consulting team at Odgers Berndtson, at uoftvprisi@odgersberndtson.com by the same deadline.

Following input on mandate and qualities, a call for nominations/applications and a position profile will be distributed.

Questions should be directed to Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council, (sheree.drummond@utoronto.ca)