

#### OFFICE OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

#### Memorandum

**To:** Governing Council

Academic Board Business Board

University Affairs Board

University of Toronto Scarborough Campus Council University of Toronto Mississauga Campus Council

College of Electors

Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs

Professionals and Managers Staff

Confidential Staff President, UTFA

President of Employee Unions

University of Toronto Alumni Association – Board of Directors

Presidents of APUS, GSU, UTSU, UTMSU and SCSU

From: Anwar Kazimi, Chief Returning Officer

Date: February 26, 2021

Re: Results of the elections for 2021 Governing Council and its bodies

# **Governing Council Elections**

It is with pleasure that I provide below the list of successful candidates who will serve on the Governing Council in 2021-2022:

Administrative Staff Vikram Chadalawada

Students

Full-time Undergraduate Students: Evan Kanter and Vishar Yaghoubian

(Arts and Science, UTM, UTSC and TYP)

Full-time Undergraduate Students: Andrew Chen and Kenneth Williams

(Professional Faculties)

Part-time Undergraduate Students: Susan Froom and Karen Ng

Graduate Students, Constituency I: Mozynah Nofal

Graduate Students, Constituency II: Amin Kamaleddin

## **Teaching Staff**

## Constituency IA:

(All Teaching Staff members in the Faculty of Arts and Science who hold their major appointments in the Departments of Art, Classics, East Asian Studies, English, French, Germanic Languages and Literatures, History, Italian Studies, Linguistics, Near and Middle Eastern Civilizations, Philosophy, Study of Religion, Slavic Languages and Literatures, Spanish and Portuguese, the Centre for Comparative Literature, the Cinema Studies Institute, the Centre for Drama, Theatre and Performance Studies, the Centre for Medieval Studies, and the Institute for History & Philosophy of Science & Technology)

Professor Nhung Tuyet Tran

#### Constituency IB:

(All Teaching Staff members in the Faculty of Arts and Science who hold their major appointments in the Departments of Anthropology, Economics, Geography & Planning, Political Science, Sociology, the Centre for Criminology and Sociolegal Studies, the Munk School of Global Affairs & Public Policy, the Centre for Industrial Relations and Human Resources, the Women and Gender Studies Institute, and Teaching Staff members who hold their major appointments in University College, St Michael's College, New College, Woodsworth College, and Innis College)

Professor Ron Levi

#### Constituency V:

(All Teaching Staff members who hold their major appointments in the Temerty Faculty of Medicine, including clinical faculty)

Professor Veronica Wadey

## Constituency VI:

(All Teaching Staff members who hold their major appointments in the Dalla Lana School of Public Health, Faculty of Dentistry, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing, Leslie Dan Faculty of Pharmacy and the Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education)

Professor Ernest Lam

## **Academic Board Elections for Librarians and Teaching Staff**

Librarians Monique Flaccavento

University of Toronto Mississauga Professor Nicole Novroski

Other teaching staff seats on the Academic Board were filled by acclamation.

## **UTM Campus Council and its Standing Committees**

UTM Campus Affairs Committee Election

Administrative Staff

Jessica Silver

The remaining administrative staff, librarian, and teaching staff seats on the UTM Campus Council and its Standing Committees were filled by acclamation.

## **UTSC Campus Council and its Standing Committees**

Most administrative staff, librarian, and teaching staff seats on the UTSC Campus Council and its Standing Committees were filled by acclamation.

Details of the election results, including the names of all candidates, are available at:

https://governingcouncil.utoronto.ca/elections

The results of the elections for the student seats on the UTM and UTSC Campus Council and their Standing Committees will be announced on April 12, 2021, with the winners being declared elected on April 15, 2021.

The nominations for the remaining seats on the Governing Council and its bodies will re-open on Monday, March 1, 2021.

Please join me in thanking all of the candidates who participated in this year's elections.

I would like to offer my congratulations to those who have been elected or acclaimed in their respective constituencies, and I thank everyone who participated in these elections process.

Thank you for your interest in University governance.