

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Meric S. Gertler, CM, FRSC, FBA, FAcSS President

| To: | Governing Council |
|-------|---|
| | Academic Board |
| | Business Board |
| | University Affairs Board |
| | UTM Campus Council |
| | UTSC Campus Council |
| | Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs |
| | Professionals and Managerial Staff |
| | Confidential Staff |
| | President of UTFA |
| | Presidents of Employee Unions |
| | Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU |
| | President, University of Toronto Alumni Association (UTAA) |
| From: | Professor Meric Gertler, President |
| Date: | October 30, 2020 |
| Re: | President's Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice-President, International |

On June 25, 2020, the Governing Council appointed Professor Edward (Ted) Sargent as Vice-President, Research and Innovation, and Strategic Initiatives; Professor Sargent had been serving as the inaugural Vice-President, International since 2016. The Governing Council subsequently appointed Professor Joseph (Joe) Wong as Interim Vice-President, International for a one-year term, effective July 1, 2020 to June 30, 2021, or until a continuing appointment is made, whichever comes first.

Following a <u>call for nominations</u>, I am pleased to announce that the membership of the Advisory Committee, which I will chair, is as follows:

- Professor Joshua Barker, Vice-Provost, Graduate Research and Dean, School of Graduate Studies
- Ms Janet Ecker, Lieutenant Governor-in-Council member of the Governing Council
- Mr. Amin Kamaleddin, Graduate student member of the Governing Council
- Ms Anushay Irfan Khan, Intercultural Education Program Coordinator, UTSC International Student Centre
- Professor Emmanuel Nikiema, Chair, Department of Language Studies, UTM
- Professor Nicholas Rule, Chair, Department of Psychology, Faculty of Arts and Science
- Professor Lynn Wilson, Vice-Dean, Partnerships, Temerty Faculty of Medicine
- Mr. Ken Withers, Director, Office of Student Recruitment

- Professor Christopher Yip, Dean, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
- Dr. Nadina Jamison, Chief Strategy Officer, Office of the President (non-voting, ex officio)

In addition, following a formal Request for Proposals and a rigorous selection process, we have engaged the firm of Boyden to assist the Advisory Committee in its work.

The Advisory Committee is interested in receiving advice on priorities that the Committee should consider for the mandate for the next Vice-President, International and qualities that should be sought in the next Vice-President, International to ensure execution of the mandate. Submissions should be sent by **5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, November 11, 2020** using the online form available at http://bit.ly/VPI2020Advice. Responses will be confidential to the Committee. Comments may also be submitted in confidence to Kathy Rahme Principal, Boyden, at krahme@boyden.com by the same deadline.

Following input on mandate and qualities, a call for nominations and a position profile will be distributed.

Questions should be directed to Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council, (<u>sheree.drummond@utoronto.ca</u> or 416-978-2118).