Office of the Vice-Principal Research & Innovation



UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO S C A R B O R O U G H

Academic Affairs Committee September 14, 2020

UTSC Research Restart Update

Phased Restart of Research at UTSC

In April the Office of the Vice-Principal Research & Innovation (OVPRI) established a UTSC Working Group (WG), comprised of a variety of individuals representing various constituencies associated with the research and innovation enterprise at UTSC (please see the following slide identifying the members of the WG).

The WG has worked very diligently to ensure an effective and smooth restart of research activities at UTSC.

All Departments that submitted research restart plans have had those plans approved.

Research involving humans and research involving animals is now permitted (pending receipt of necessary/ standard approvals).

UTSC Vivarium operations have begun to increase insofar as such is permitted by University guidelines and directions.

Both on-campus and off-campus research is now permitted (pending receipt of necessary/standard approvals).

UTSC Restart Research Working Group















- VPRI (Chair)
- 6 Departmental Chairs
 - George Arhonditsis
 - Suzanne Erb
 - Jessica Fields
 - Andrew Mason
 - Juvénal Ndayiragije
 - Grace Skogstad
- UTSC Chief Administrative Officer
- **Director**, **OVPRI** •
- **UTSC Vivarium Manager** \bullet
- Manager of UTSC Office of EHS
- Graduate (PhD) Student













The OVPRI secured some limited, one-time funding to help UTSC researchers mitigate the consequences of the COVID-19-related mandatory temporary cessation of research activities.

To that end, the following funds were secured and are being disbursed for the identified purposes:

Repair of UTSC Lab Instruments: \$100,000

Extension of UTSC Postdoctoral Fellow Contracts: **\$50,000**

Restocking the Vivarium and Greenhouse: **\$45,000**

COVID-19 Research Funding

UTSC, in conjunction with the Toronto COVID-19 Action Initiative and the University of Toronto, **awarded more than \$500,000 in funding** to support research that renders nearterm results (from one month to 12 months, depending on the nature of the impact) with strong potential to positively impact individuals, communities and public health systems.

The following five UTSC faculty received funding:

Gerald Cupchik Psychology

Jessica Fields Health and Society

Joseph Hermer Sociology

Jayeeta Sharma Yun William Yu Historical & Cultural Studies Computer & Mathematical Studies











UTSC Clusters of Scholarly Prominence Program

The Clusters of Scholarly Prominence Program (CSPP) serves to promote self-sustaining, interdisciplinary, inter-departmental, collaborative clusters of scholarship in areas of established and emerging strength at UTSC and which have a demonstrable capacity to augment UofT's global standing through prominence in research, creative activity and exceptional learning.

The inaugural CSPP competition recently concluded, with a total of **\$2.4 million of funding awarded** across the next three years. Development of the following four clusters will begin this Fall:

Clinical Research and Evaluation Cluster – Leads: Michael Best (Psychology) and Zindel Segal (Psychology) Centre for Environmental Research in the Anthropocene – Leads: Marc Cadotte (Biological Sciences) and Myrna Simpson (Physical & Environmental Sciences)

Flourish: Community-Engaged Arts for Social Wellness Cluster – Lead: Andrea Charise (English/Health & Society

Suburban Mobilities Cluster – Lead: Steven Farber (Human Geography)

New UTSC Canada Research Chairs

The Canada Research Chair Program was established in 2000 to fund outstanding researchers in Canada. It provides approximately \$295 million annually to universities to help retain and attract top minds, spur innovation and foster training excellence in Canadian post-secondary institutions.

Two UTSC faculty have recently been awarded new Canada Research Chairs



Hilary Brown Department of Health & Society

CRC (Tier 2) in Disability and Reproductive Health



Myrna Simpson Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences

CRC (Tier 1) in Integrative Molecular Biogeochemistry

New UTSC Members of the RSC College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists

Established in 2014, the RSC College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists honours excellence and seeks to recognize and foster academic leadership and collaboration among those who have received their PhDs within the last 15 years.

Two UTSC faculty have recently been inducted as members of the College of New Scholars, Artists and Scientists



Marc Cadotte Department of Biological Sciences

Marc is an internationally recognized ecologist who examines fundamental questions about biological diversity in ecosystems and how human activities impact ecosystem health.



Diana Fu Department of Political Science

Diana is a leading political scientist studying contemporary Chinese politics. Her award-winning research on activism in China has had a cross-disciplinary impact on the study of social movements.

Letter of Intent between UTSC and Ontario Shores Centre for Mental Health Sciences





Celebrating a Century of Care

UTSC has recently signed a Letter of Intent with Ontario Shores Centre for Mental Health Sciences. The agreement formalizes a relationship that is focused on pursuing collaborative research endeavours to advance knowledge about, and the treatment of, mental health disorders. A number of projects are already underway.

Associate Vice-Principal Research— Strategic Initiatives



A new senior academic administrative position has been established in the OVPRI: Associate Vice-Principal Research—Strategic Initiatives (AVPR-SI).

The AVPR-SI will provide leadership for strategic research and innovation initiatives at UTSC, including the creation of new research institutes and UTSC's new Clusters of Scholarly Prominence Program (CSPP).

I am delighted to announce that Professor Grace Skogstad – someone familiar to many of you – kindly agreed to serve as Interim AVPR-SI until June 30, 2021.

A job description for the position will be developed and a standard recruitment/hiring process will be undertaken, with the goal of having the position staffed by July 1, 2021.