

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Meric S. Gertler, CM, FRSC, FBA, FAcSS President

To:	Governing Council
	Academic Board
	Business Board
	University Affairs Board
	UTM Campus Council
	UTSC Campus Council
	Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs
	Professionals and Managerial Staff
	Confidential Staff
	President of UTFA
	Presidents of Employee Unions
	Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU
	President, University of Toronto Alumni Association (UTAA)
From:	Professor Meric Gertler, President
Date:	November 22, 2019
Re:	President's Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice-President & Provost

On June 30, 2020 Professor Cheryl Regehr will be completing her current term as Vice-President and Provost. Professor Regehr has been serving in the role since September 2, 2013 and is eligible for reappointment.

Following a <u>call for nominations</u>, I am pleased to announce that the membership of the Advisory Committee, which I will chair, is as follows:

- Ms Apefa Adjivon, undergraduate student, member of the Governing Council
- Mr. Larry Alford, Chief Librarian
- Professor Randy Boyagoda, Principal and Vice-President, St. Michael's College
- Professor Alexandra Gillespie, Chair, Department of English and Drama, UTM
- Professor Linda Johnston, Dean, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing
- Professor Paul Kingston, Director, Centre for Critical Development Studies, UTSC, member of the Governing Council
- Ms Mama Adobea Nii Owoo, graduate student
- Ms N. Jane Pepino, Lieutenant Governor-in-Council member of the Governing Council
- Mr. Trevor Rodgers, Assistant Vice-President, Planning & Budget
- Professor Steven J. Thorpe, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
- Dr. Geeta Yadav, alumna

- Professor Melanie Woodin, Dean, Faculty of Arts & Science
- Professor Lynn Wilson, Vice-Dean, Partnerships, Faculty of Medicine
- Dr. Nadina Jamison, Chief Strategy Officer, Office of the President (non-voting, *ex* officio)

Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council, will serve as secretary to the Committee. Mr. Anwar Kazimi, Deputy Secretary, will also provide support.

The Advisory Committee's first task will be to undertake a review and advise me on the Vice-President and Provost portfolio and on priorities that should be considered for the Vice-President and Provost. Submissions should be sent by **5:00 p.m. on Monday, December 2, 2019** using the online form available at <u>http://bit.ly/ProvostAdvice</u>. Responses will be confidential to the Committee.