UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT NUMBER 216 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

September 23, 2015

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Tuesday, September 23, 2015, at 3:15 p.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall.

Present: Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak (Chair)*

Professor John Bland (Vice-Chair)**

Professor Richard Hegele Professor Sioban Nelson Professor Cheryl Regehr Professor Elizabeth M. Smyth Professor Steven J. Thorpe

Anwar Kazimi, Secretary

Regrets: Ms Shakira Brathwaite

Professor Robert Gibbs

In Attendance: Ms Archana Sridhar, Assistant Provost

1. Chair's Remarks

The Chair welcomed members to the first meeting of the Committee for 2015-2016.

^{*}Not present for item 10

^{**}In the Chair for item 10

2. Electronic Approvals

The Chair noted that following the Committee's previous meeting, there had been need, because of time constraints, to consider several academic administrative appointments by means of electronic ballot. She read the resolutions of June 25, July 8, July 27, and August 28, 2015.

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments

FACULTY OF ARTS & SCIENCE

Professor Brenda Cossman Director

Mark S. Bonham Centre for Sexual Diversity

Studies

June 1, 2015 to June 30, 2018

[Renewal]

Professor Jill Ross Director

Centre for Comparative Literature June 1, 2015 to June 30, 2021

[includes one-year administrative leave]

FACULTY OF INFORMATION

Professor Kelly Lyons Associate Dean, Academic

July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2017

Professor Leslie Shade Associate Dean, Research

January 1, 2016 to December 31, 2017

FACULTY OF LAW

Professor Karen Knop Associate Dean, Research

January 1, 2016 to June 30, 2018

Professor Kerry Rittich Associate Dean, J.D. Program

July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2017

2. Electronic Approvals (contd.)

ONTARIO INSTITUTE FOR STUDIES IN EDUCATION (OISE)

Professor Clare Kosnik Director

Dr. Eric Jackman Institute of Child Study November 1, 2015 to June 30, 2018

Professor Rhonda Martinussen Acting Director

Dr. Eric Jackman Institute of Child Study

July 1, 2015 to October 31, 2015

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Professor Ravin Balakrishnan Graduate Chair

Department of Computer Science July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2020

Professor Tiff Macklem Graduate Chair

Department of Management July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2019

FACULTY OF MUSIC

Professor Sherry Lee Associate Dean, Research

July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2017

LESLIE DAN FACULTY OF PHARMACY

Professor Stephane Angers Associate Dean, Research

July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2020

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Professor Melissa Milkie Graduate Chair

Department of Sociology

August 1, 2015 to June 30, 2020

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO SCARBOROUGH

Professor Donna Gabaccia Interim Chair

Department of Historical and Cultural Studies

August 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016

2. Electronic Approvals (contd.)

ONTARIO INSTITUTE FOR STUDIES IN EDUCATION (OISE)

Professor Jim Hewitt Interim Chair

Department of Curriculum, Teaching and Learning

September 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO SCARBOROUGH

Professor Heinz-Bernhard Kraatz Vice-Principal, Research

July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2021 (includes administrative leave)

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO SCARBOROUGH

Professor George B. Arhonditsis Interim Chair

Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences

September 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016

Professor William Gough Interim Vice Principal (Academic) and Dean

September 1, 2015 to August 31, 2016

(or until the appointment of a new Dean, whichever

comes first)

3. 2015-2016 Calendar of Business

The Committee reviewed the 2015-2016 Calendar of Business for the Agenda Committee.

4. Academic Board

4(a) 2014-2015 Academic Board Evaluation Survey

The Chair provided a summary of members' feedback on the Academic Board Evaluation Survey that had been completed in June, 2014. Members agreed the Chair should comment briefly on the survey in her opening remarks at the meeting.

4(b) 2015-2016 Calendar of Business and Strategic Governance Topics

The Committee reviewed the 2015-2016 Calendar of Business for the Academic Board and agreed on the proposed strategic governance topics that would be presented to the Board over the course of the year.

4(c) Orientation

Members agreed to include the Orientation with the main agenda of the meeting.

4d) Review and Approval of Agenda – Thursday, October 1, 2015

The Committee reviewed and approved the draft agenda for the October 2rd Board meeting. Members reviewed the Orientation and the topics that were to be covered under this item. It was noted that the background documents on governance principles and the Academic Board would be made available to the members along with the material for this meeting.

CONSENT AGENDA

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the consent agenda be adopted.

5. Approval of the Report of the Previous Meeting: Report Number 215 – June 9, 2015

Report Number 215 of the meeting held on June 9, 2015 was approved.

6. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from Report Number 215.

7. **Date of Next Meeting** – Tuesday, November 3, 2015, 3:00 – 4:00 p.m.

8. Other Business

There were no items of other business.

The Committee moved in camera.

9. Appointments: 2015-16 Striking Committee

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the following members of the Academic Board be appointed to the 2015-2016 Striking Committee of the Academic Board for a term from September 24, 2015 to June 30, 2016.

Mr. Ken Chan, alumnus Ms Catherine Riddell, administrative staff member Ms Alena Zelinka, student

10. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointment.

DALLA LANA SCHOOL OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak	Associate Dean, Academic Affairs August 31, 2015 to August 31, 2016 Extension
The Committee returned to closed session.	
The meeting adjourned at 4:15 p.m.	

Secretary September 23, 2015