

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Meric S. Gertler, CM, FRSC, FBA, FAcSS President

Memorandum to:	Faculty, Students and Staff, UTM
	Governing Council
	Academic Board
	Business Board
	University Affairs Board
	UTM Campus Council
	UTSC Campus Council
	Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs
	Professionals and Managerial Staff
	Confidential Staff
	President of UTFA
	Presidents of Employee Unions
	Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU
From:	Professor Meric Gertler, President
	Professor Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost
Date:	November 1, 2019
Re:	President's Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice- President and Principal, University of Toronto Mississauga

On September 4, 2019, the Governing Council approved the appointment of Professor Emeritus Ian Orchard as Acting Vice-President, University of Toronto, concurrent with his appointment as Acting Principal, University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM), effective September 4, 2019 until June 30, 2020, or sooner if Professor Krull is able to resume his duties before then. Professor Krull has indicated that he will not be seeking a second term as Vice-President and Principal when his current term ends.

In accordance with Section 62 (b) of the *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators*, respecting the appointment of a Principal, following <u>a call for</u> <u>nominations</u>, an Advisory Committee has been struck with the following membership.

- Professor Meric Gertler, President (Co-Chair)
- Professor Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost (Co-Chair)
- Professor Joshua Barker, Dean, School of Graduate Studies and Vice Provost, Graduate Research and Education
- Professor Kenneth Corts, Marcel Desautels Chair in Entrepreneurship, Professor of Economic Analysis and Policy, Joseph L. Rotman School of Management

- Professor Ramin Farnood, Vice Dean Research, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
- Ms Saher Fazilat, Chief Administrative Officer, UTM
- Professor Jerry Flores, Department of Sociology, UTM
- Ms Shelley Hawrychuk Chief Librarian, UTM
- Professor Mohan Matthen, Department of Philosophy, UTM
- Professor Rhonda McEwen, Director, Institute of Communication, Culture, Information & Technology (ICCIT), UTM
- Professor Fiona Rawle, Associate Dean, Department of Biology, UTM
- Professor Lindsay Schoenbohm, Chair, Department of Chemical and Physical Sciences, UTM
- Mr. Kyle Thomas, full-time undergraduate student, UTM
- Professor Melanie Woodin, Dean, Faculty of Arts and Science
- Dr. Nadina Jamison, Chief Strategy Officer, Office of the President (non-voting, *ex officio* member)

In addition, following a formal Request for Proposals we will be engaging an executive search firm to assist the Advisory Committee in its work.

The Advisory Committee is interested in receiving advice on priorities that the Committee should consider for the mandate for the next Vice-President and Principal and qualities that should be sought in the next Vice-President and Principal to ensure execution of the mandate. Comments may be submitted using the confidential online form available at <u>http://bit.ly/UTMVPP_Advice</u> by **5:00 p.m. on Friday, November 15, 2019.** Following input on the mandate and qualities, a call for nominations and a position profile will be distributed.

Questions should be directed to Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council, (<u>sheree.drummond@utoronto.ca</u> or 416-978-2118).