UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

COLLEGE OF ELECTORS

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Tuesday, May 14, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall.

Present:

Corwin Cambray, (UTAA) (Chair) Dan Acheson (Woodsworth College) Neville Austin (Faculty of Music)

Judy Beamish (Medicine) Leslie A. Boehm (DLSPH)

Keith Chen (UTSC)

Taleen Chouljian (Rotman) Sandra Comisarow (Nursing) Perry Cooper (Medicine) Daniel J. Correia (KPE)

Demetra Dimokopoulos (UTM) Jennifer Dolman (University College) Cynthia Elson (Victoria College)

Beverley Giblon (Physical Therapy)

Jason Glover (UTSC) Kevin Golding (UTM) Sana Halwani (Law)

Nancy E. Hill (Engineering)

Oliver Jerschow (University College)

Secretariat:

Patrick F. McNeill, Secretary

Regrets:

Josephine L. Comegna (Victoria College)

Paul Haynes (Victoria College)

Nadine Ibrahim (Engineering)

Tracey King (OISE)

Rachele Levin (Forestry)

Victoria McNally (St. Michael's)

Igor Siljanovski (New College)

Dorinda So (UTSC)

Michael Stargiannis (Engineering)

J. Alison Stirling (Information)

Guests:

Harvey Botting, Member of Governing Council Gary Goldberg, Member of Governing Council Andrew Szende, Member of Governing Council Doris Kalamut (Pharmacy) Sean Kiefte (Woodsworth) Joel Leon (Architecture) Paul Lindblad (New College) Amy Matchen (University College)

Judy Newman (Social Work) Nikoletta Papadopoulos (OISE) Robert A. Patrick (Innis College)

Lesley Pollard (Dentistry)
David F. Poirier (Engineering)
Igor Siljanovski (New College)

Maureen L. Simpson (Trinity College)

Matthew Stodolak (OISE)

Stephen Tardif (St. Michael's College) Emily

VanBerkum (St. Michael's) Anne Venton (OISE) Bryon Wilfert (UTSC) University of Toronto Minutes of the College of Electors, May 14, 2019

Guests continued:

Bruce Winter, Member of Governing Council Samra Zafar, Member of Governing Council Joan Johnston, Alumni Governor-Elect* Eve Leung, COE member-elect

Scott MacKendrick, President, University of Toronto Alumni Association* Tye Farrow, Incoming President, University of Toronto Alumni Association* Anne Cobban, Director, Alumni Engagement and Partnerships Satpal McCaughey, Manager, Volunteer Leadership and Engagement

(*attended post-meeting reception)

1. Chair's Remarks

The Chair welcomed members to the final meeting of the 2018-2019 governance year.

The Chair drew members' attention to the 2019-2020 Key Dates document that had been included with the meeting material. Mr. Cambray asked members to complete the end-of-year online survey. Their responses would be reviewed by the Executive Committee and would assist with planning for the next year.

The Committee moved In Camera.

2. Report of the 2018-2019 Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee (NC-EC) of the College of Electors

The Chair informed the College of the process by which the Executive Committee was elected each year. He said that the 2018-2019 Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee (NC-EC) was composed of three members – Perry Cooper, Kevin Golding and Sana Halwani.

Ms Halwani then presented the Committee's report.

i. Vice-Chair

On motion duly moved, seconded and carried

It Was Resolved

THAT Maureen Simpson (Trinity) be appointed Vice-Chair of the College of Electors for 2019-2020.

ii. Executive Committee

On motion duly moved, seconded and carried

It Was Resolved

THAT Taleen Chouljian (Rotman), Sean Kiefte (Woodsworth) and David Poirier (Engineering), be appointed to the Executive Committee of the College of Electors for 2019-20.

The Chair congratulated the members of the 2019-2020 Executive Committee and thanked the 2018-2019 NC-EC for their work.

3. Selection of the 2019-2020 Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee

The Chair reminded members of the role of the NC-EC. Nancy Hill (Engineering), Paul Lindblad (New College) and Nikoletta Papadopoulos (OISE) volunteered to sit on the 2019-2020 NC-EC.

The Chair thanked them for their willingness to serve in that capacity.

The Committee Returned to Open Session

4. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – February 21, 2019

On a motion duly moved, seconded and carried

It Was Resolved

THAT the minutes of the meeting of February 21, 2019 be approved.

5. Business Arising from the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.

6. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair reminded members that the next meeting would be held on Wednesday, September 12, 2019 from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.

7. Reflections of Alumni Members of the Governing Council

The Chair welcomed the alumni governors who had joined the meeting and invited them to share some of their experiences with the College. In delivering their remarks, the alumni governors spoke on a range of matters, including the following.

University of Toronto Minutes of the College of Electors, May 14, 2019

- Role of Alumni Governors;
- Unique nature of tri-campus governance system;
- Risk issues including financial sustainability and reputation risk;
- Student Wellness issues:
- Role as Chair to University Affairs Board and other Committees;
- President's 3 Priorities; and
- Capital projects and strategies (i.e. Four Corners Real Estate Strategy).

The Chair thanked the alumni governors for their valuable reflections and for their excellent service as ambassadors for the University.

8. Other Business

The Chair thanked members of the 2018-2019 Executive Committee – Vice-Chair Nadine Ibrahim (Engineering), Jason Glover (UTSC), Paul Lindblad (New College) and David Poirier (Engineering) – for having supported him as Chair of the College. They had given generously of their time and assistance.

Other Business continued:

The Chair also thanked all members of the College for their dedication, and he acknowledged the other members who would end their service on the College this year.

The Chair presented a certificate of appreciation to the following out-going members:

Dan Acheson (Woodsworth College)
Sandra Comisarow (Nursing)
Dr. Perry Cooper (Medicine)
Kevin Golding (UTM)
Sana Halwani (Law)
Nadine Ibrahim (Engineering)
Oliver Jerschow (University College)
Tracey King (OISE)
Robert Patrick (Innis)
Igor Siljanovski (New College)
Alison Stirling (Information)
Anne Venton (OISE)
Bryon Wilfert (UTSC)

Members of the College expressed their appreciation to the Chair and Secretary.

The Chair invited members and guests to a reception that followed the meeting.

Adjournment

| University of Toronto Minutes of the College of Electors, | May 14, 2019 | |
|--|------------------------------------|--|
| | The meeting adjourned at 6:15 p.m. | |
| | | |
| | | |
| Secretary | Chair | |
| May 16, 2019 | | |