## OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Meric S. Gertler, CM, FRSC, FBA, FAcSS President

To:	Faculty, Students and Staff, University of Toronto Mississauga
	Governing Council
	Academic Board
	Business Board
	University Affairs Board
	UTM Campus Council
	UTSC Campus Council
	Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs
	Professionals and Managerial Staff
	Confidential Staff
	President of UTFA
	Presidents of Employee Unions
	Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU
From:	Professor Meric Gertler, President
	Professor Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President and Provost
Date:	September 13, 2019
RE:	Call for Nominations for the Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice-President and Principal, University of Toronto Mississauga

UNIVERSITY OF

Professor Ulrich (Ulli) Krull was appointed Vice-President and Principal, UTM effective July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2020. Professor Krull has been on a short-term medical leave since May of this year. On September 4, 2019, the Governing Council approved the appointment of Professor Emeritus Ian Orchard as Acting Vice-President, University of Toronto, concurrent with his appointment as Acting Principal, University of Toronto Mississauga, effective September 4, 2019 until June 30, 2020, or sooner if Professor Krull is able to resume his duties before then.

Professor Krull has indicated that he will not be seeking a second term as Vice-President and Principal when his current term ends.

In accordance with Section 62 (b) of the *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators*, we are writing to call for nominations of individuals to serve on the committee that will advise on the appointment of a new Vice-President and Principal. The *Policy on Appointment of Academic Administrators* mandates the potential composition of the advisory committee as follows:

- The President (Co-Chair);
- The Vice-President and Provost (Co-Chair);
- The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies or representative;
- Three to five members of the teaching staff of the campus;
- One to three students of the campus;
- A librarian, where appropriate;
- Two or three other qualified scholars from within or outside this University, but outside the campus;
- In addition, the committee may include an alumnus/a, a member of the administrative staff, and a qualified individual from outside the University.

Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council, will serve as secretary to the Committee. Mr. Anwar Kazimi, Deputy Secretary, will also provide support.

Nominations for membership on the Advisory Committee should be sent by *5:00 p.m. on Friday, September 27, 2019* using the confidential online form available at: <u>http://bit.ly/UTMVPP\_Adv\_Nom</u>.

Questions should be directed to the Secretary at <u>sheree.drummond@utoronto.ca</u> or 416-978-2118.