### UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

### REPORT NUMBER 255 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE Tuesday, June 4, 2019

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto

Your Committee reports that it met on Tuesday, June 4, 2019, at 3:00 p.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall with the following members present:

#### PRESENT:

**Steven J. Thorpe, Vice-Chair** Cheryl Regehr David Dubins Ernest W.N. Lam Susan McCahan Jessie Tong

#### **REGRETS**:

Andrea M. Sass-Kortsak, Chair Emmanuel Nikiema Richard Hegele

#### **SECRETARIAT:**

Tracey Gameiro, Secretary, Agenda Committee

### **IN ATTENDANCE:**

Archana Sridhar, Assistant Provost, Office of the Vice-President and Provost

The Meeting was held in Closed Session

### 1. Chair's Remarks

Professor Steven Thorpe, Vice-Chair, chaired the meeting in Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak's absence.

### 2. Approval of the Report of the Previous Meeting

Report 254 from the meeting of May 21, 2019, was approved.

### 3. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from the Report of the previous meeting

#### 4. Date of the Next Meeting

The Chair indicated that the next meeting would be held on Tuesday, June 27, 2019.

5. Other Business

There were no items of other business

### The Committee moved IN CAMERA.

### 6. Academic Administrative Appointments

On a motion duly moved, seconded and carried

#### YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

The following academic administrative appointments.

#### FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

Professor William Cluett	Interim Chair Division of Engineering Science July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020 [or until a new chair is appointed, whichever is first]
Professor Glenn Hibbard	Chair and Graduate Chair Department of Materials Science and Engineering

July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2022

## FACULTY OF ARTS & SCIENCE

FACULTY OF ARTS & SCIENCE Associate Professor James Cahill	Director Cinema Studies Institute July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2024
Professor John Kloppenborg	Chair and Graduate Chair Department for the Study of Religion July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020 [Extension]
Associate Professor Ann Komaromi	Acting Director Centre for Comparative Literature July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2020 [Extension]
Professor Ana Teresa Perez-Leroux	Chair, Department of Spanish & Portuguese Graduate Chair, Department of Spanish July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2025 <i>[includes one year of approved leave]</i>
FACULTY OF MEDICINE Professor Pascal van Lieshout	Chair and Graduate Chair Department of Speech-Language Pathology July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2024 [ <i>Renewal</i> ]

Professor Mingyao Liu

Director and Graduate Chair Institute of Medical Science January 1, 2020 to June 30, 2025 [Renewal; includes six month administrative leave]

### **ROTMAN SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT** Professor Brian Silverman

UNIVERSITY COLLEGE

Professor Donald Ainslie

Acting Associate Dean, Research and Academic Resources September 1, 2019 to February 28, 2020

Principal July 1, 2019 to December 31, 2019 [Extension]

## Report Number 255 of the Agenda Committee – June 4, 2019

## The Committee returned to Open Session.

The Chair thanked members for their attendance and participation.

# The meeting adjourned at 3:12 p.m.

Secretary

Chair

June 4, 2019