UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

COLLEGE OF ELECTORS

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Monday, November 13, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall.

Present:

Geeta Yadav (UTAA) (Chair)

Oliver Jerschow (University College) (Vice-Chair)

Dan Acheson (Woodsworth College) Neville Austin (Faculty of Music)

Taleen Chouljian (Rotman)

Ann Clarke (UTSC)

Sandra Comisarow (Nursing)

Beverley Giblon (Physical Therapy)

Jason Glover (UTSC)

Kevin Golding (UTM)

Nancy E. Hill (Engineering)

Nadine Ibrahim (Engineering)

Candice Jay (UTM)

Doris Kalamut (Pharmacy)

Sean Kiefte (Woodsworth)

Tracey King (OISE)

Joel Leon (Architecture)

Secretariat:

Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing

Council

Patrick McNeill, Secretary

Regrets:

Mike K. Amos (UTM)

Josephine L. Comegna (Victoria College)

Perry Cooper (Medicine)

David Drew (Kinesiology)

Sana Halwani (Law)

Reza Hassanirad (OISE)

Paul Haynes (Victoria College)

Rachele Levin (Forestry)

Sheila V. Neuburger (Social Work)

Nikoletta Papadopoulos (OISE)

Joanne Thanos (Public Health)

John Whittall (Trinity)

Paul Lindblad (New College)

Amy Matchen (University College)

Victoria McNally (St. Michael's)

Robert A. Patrick (Innis College)

David F. Poirier (Engineering)

Peeter Poldre (Medicine)

Lesley Pollard (Dentistry)

Igor Siljanovski (New College)

Maureen L. Simpson (Trinity College)

Dorinda So (UTSC)

Michael Starogiannis (Engineering)

J. Alison Stirling (Information)

Ho K Sung (University College)

Emily VanBerkum (St. Michael's)

Anne Venton (OISE)

Bryon Wilfert (UTSC)

Guests:

Meric Gertler, President, University of Toronto Scott MacKendrick, President, University of Toronto Alumni Association

1. Chair's Remarks

The Chair welcomed members to the meeting. The Chair also welcomed President Meric Gertler, and Mr. Scott MacKendrick, President, University of Toronto Alumni Association, who had joined the meeting, specifically to address the College on the attributes and requirements for alumni governors for 2018; and Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council. The Chair noted that the Chair of the Governing Council was unable to attend the meeting that evening, and she would be speaking on Ms Kennedy's behalf.

The Committee moved *In Camera*.

2. Attributes and Requirements for Alumni Governors 2018

The Chair noted that two seats would need to be filled as of June 30, 2018. She reported that as part of a preliminary discussion of the attributes and also on the requirements most in need for 2018, the Chair of the Governing Council, the President and UTAA President had met with the COE Executive Committee on Monday, October 30.

The College received comments on behalf of the Chair of the Governing Council; and in person from Professor Gertler, President and Mr. MacKendrick, UTAA President.

Following an extensive discussion by Members, it was agreed that the following attributes would be highlighted in the 2018 *Call for Nominations for Alumni Governors* and there is a particular interest in recruiting alumni who:

- Are active as volunteers within the University;
- Have a strong community presence;
- Have sound governance experience with membership on the boards and governance bodies of a diverse range of organizations;
- Have a willingness and capacity to invest a significant amount of time to activities in support of the University;
- Are energetic and can act as dedicated advocates for post-secondary education on behalf of the University;
- Have a capacity to master the complexity of the University, and its evolution as a preeminent teaching and research institution;
- Have a general knowledge of and experiences in various functions important to the University (by example: financial management, oversight of private or public sector management, and knowledge of investment and pension-related matters);
- Are engaging and persuasive communicators;

Attributes and Requirements for Alumni Governors 2018 continued:

- Are highly creative, strategic and critical thinkers, who engage with emerging ideas and technologies to reimagine the University of the future;
- Have international experience and connections; and
- Have an affinity for mentorship and being an inspirational role model with an interest in shaping and guiding the changing student experience at the University.

3. Call for Nominations for Chancellor

The College reviewed the position description for the Chancellor that was prepared by the Chancellor Search Committee. The Chair announced the a *Call for Nominations* for the Chancellor would be issued on November 16, 2017; and would remain open until such time the new Chancellor was elected by the College as per the Constitution.

The College returned to open session.

4. Alumni Governor Election Process

Members discussed the Alumni Governor election process and reviewed the draft 2018 Alumni Governor Nomination Form which contained minor revisions from the previous year. The Chair noted that the recommendations which arose from the Working Group would be implemented as part of the College's undertakings to develop a tool kit for members to promote the call. The COE Secretary presented the new permanent website developed in consultation with the communications group in the Division of University Advancement that promoted alumni members of Governing Council, this year's Alumni Governor process for the nomination of 2 governors, as well as the Office of the Chancellor and this year's search. An article would appear in the November 2018 edition of Alumni News and Stories, and would be widely promoted via the various alumni social media accounts. College Members would also be asked to contact their respective university alumni affairs representatives to discuss further dissemination of the Call for Nominations – the Secretary would provide the necessary contact and draft content to Members.

5. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – September 28, 2017

The minutes of the meeting of September 28, 2017 were approved.

6. Business Arising from the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.

7. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair reminded members that the next meeting would be held on Tuesday, January 23, 2018 from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.

University of Toronto	
Minutes of the College of Electors – November 13, 20)17

November 14, 2017

8.	Other Business		
There was no other business.			
The C	Committee moved <i>In Camera</i> .		
9.	Election of the 2017-18 Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors		
Jason Glover (UTSC), Nadine Ibrahim (FASE), and Paul Lindblad (New College) were elected to the 2017-2018 Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG) of the College of Electors.			
The C	College returned to open session.		
	The meeting adjourned	at 7:15 p.m.	
Secre	etary	Chair	