UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT 145 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

May 5, 2008

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Monday, May 5, 2008, at 4:00 p.m. in the Falconer Room, Room 102, Simcoe Hall.

Present: Professor Michael Marrus (In the Chair)

Professor Brian Corman

Professor Vivek Goel, Vice-President and Provost

Professor Avrum Gotlieb, Chair, Planning and Budget Committee

Professor Clare Beghtol Professor Rick Halpern

Professor Edith Hillan, Vice-Provost, Academic

Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak, Chair, Committee on Academic Policy and

Programs

Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary

Regrets: Mr. James Janeiro

In Attendance: Ms Helen Lasthiotakis, Director, Policy and Planning, Office of the Vice-

President and Provost

1. Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 144 of the meeting held on April 9, 2008 was approved.

2. Business Arising

There was no business arising from the report of the previous meeting.

3. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair stated that the next meeting would be held on Tuesday, May 20, 2008 at 2:00 p.m. in the Falconer Room.

4. Other Business

There were no items of Other Business.

The Committee moved in camera.

5. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved and seconded

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

the following academic administrative appointments:

FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

Edward S. Rogers Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Professor Jonathan Rose Chair and Graduate Chair

January 1, 2009 to June 30, 2009 (Extension)

Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering

Professor J. Paul Santerre Director

September 1, 2008 to August 31, 2013

JOSEPH L. ROTMAN SCHOOL OF MANAGEMENT

Professor Joel Baum Associate Dean, Faculty

July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013

Dr. Beatrix Dart Associate Dean, Executive Degree Programs

July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013

FACULTY OF INFORMATION STUDIES

Professor Seamus Ross Dean

January 1, 2009 to December 31, 2016

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Department of Medical Imaging

Professor Paul Babyn Acting Chair

May 1, 2008 to July 31, 2008

Department of Obstetrics & Gynaecology

Professor Jennifer Blake Acting Chair

July 1, 2008 to December 31, 2008

Professor Alan Bocking Chair

January 1, 2009 to December 31, 2013 (Re-appointment)

FACULTY OF MUSIC

Professor Robin Elliott Associate Dean Undergraduate Education

July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013

5. Academic Administrative Appointments (cont'd)

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES	
Tri-campus graduate Department of Chemistry	
Professor Scott Mabury	Chair
•	July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2012 (Re-appointment)
Tri-campus graduate Department of Philosophy	
Professor Donald Ainslie	Chair
	July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2012 (Re-appointment)
UNIVERSITY COLLEGE	
Professor Philip Sohm	Acting Vice-Principal
Troitese Timp Some	July 1, 2008 – December 31, 2008
The Committee returned to open session.	
The meeting was adjourned at 4:20 p.m.	