UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

COLLEGE OF ELECTORS

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Thursday, February 21, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. in Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall.

Present:

Corwin Cambray, (UTAA) (Chair)

Nadine Ibrahim (Engineering)(Vice-Chair)

Dan Acheson (Woodsworth College)

Neville Austin (Faculty of Music)

Judy Beamish (Medicine)

Leslie A. Boehm (DLSPH)

Keith Chen (UTSC)

Taleen Chouljian (Rotman)

Sandra Comisarow (Nursing)

Perry Cooper (Medicine)

Demetra Dimokopoulos (UTM)

Jennifer Dolman (University College)

Cynthia Elson (Victoria College)

Beverley Giblon (Physical Therapy)

Jason Glover (UTSC)

Kevin Golding (UTM)

Sana Halwani (Law)

Nancy E. Hill (Engineering)

Oliver Jerschow (University College)

Secretariat:

Patrick F. McNeill, Secretary

Regrets:

Josephine L. Comegna (Victoria College)

Daniel J. Correia (KPE)

Paul Haynes (Victoria College)

Doris Kalamut (Pharmacy)

Rachele Levin (Forestry)

Amy Matchen (University College)

Lesley Pollard (Dentistry)

Dorinda So (UTSC)

Matthew Stodolak (OISE)

Sean Kiefte (Woodsworth)

Tracey King (OISE)

Joel Leon (Architecture)

Paul Lindblad (New College)

Victoria McNally (St. Michael's)

Judy Newman (Social Work)

Nikoletta Papadopoulos (OISE)

Robert A. Patrick (Innis College)

David F. Poirier (Engineering)

David F. Forrier (Engineering)

Igor Siljanovski (New College)

Michael Stargiannis (Engineering)

Maureen L. Simpson (Trinity College)

J. Alison Stirling (Information)

Stephen Tardif (St. Michael's College) Emily

VanBerkum (St. Michael's)

Anne Venton (OISE)

Bryon Wilfert (UTSC)

1. Chair's Remarks

The Chair welcomed members to the meeting including its newest member, Judy Newman representing the Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work.

The Chair reported that he had received a thank you note from Chancellor Rose Patten.

Members paid tribute to Chancellor Emeritus Michael H. Wilson. A letter had been sent on behalf of the College to Mrs. Wilson which expressed the College's condolences on the recent loss of Chancellor Wilson.

CONSENT AGENDA

The Chair noted that of the items listed on the Consent Agenda, one (Item 2) required approval and the others were for information only.

On a motion duly moved, seconded and carried

YOUR BOARD APPROVED

THAT the consent agenda be adopted and items approved.

2. Minutes of the Previous Meeting

The minutes of the meeting of January 23, 2019 were approved.

3. Business Arising from the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.

4. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair reminded members that the next meeting (re-scheduled from May 1, 2019) would be held on Tuesday, May 14, 2019 from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.

The Committee moved In Camera.

5. Election of Alumni Governors

The Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG) reported to the College on the interviews of candidates that had been held and on the Committee's recommendations.

Election of Alumni Governors continued:

Discussion of each candidate then took place and the NC-AG responded to questions posed by members.

The following alumni members of the Governing Council were elected for a three-year term from July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2022:

Harvey Botting Joan Johnston Samra Zafar

The Chair expressed thanks to the members of the College and the Nominating Committee - Alumni Governors (NC-AG) for their work.

The Committee Returned to Open Session

6. Nomination Process 2019-2020 Executive Committee of the College of Electors

Sana Halwani, a member of the Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee (NC-EC) provided some background information about the membership process outlined in the *Constitution*. Continuing members were encouraged to consider applying to serve on the 2019-2020 Executive Committee.

The application deadline was Thursday, March 21, 2019. The NC-EC would prepare a recommendation to the College for its final meeting.

7. Other Business

The Chair reported that an invitation would be extended to the current sitting Alumni Governors to attend the May 14, 2019 meeting of the College.

Adjournment

Th	e meeting adjourned at 6:30 p.m.
Secretary	Chair
February 22, 2019	