UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

COLLEGE OF ELECTORS

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Wednesday, May 2, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall.

Present:

Geeta Yadav (University College) (Chair) Oliver Jerschow (University College) (Vice-Chair) Dan Acheson (Woodsworth College) Neville Austin (Music) Taleen Chouljian (Rotman) Josephine L. Comegna (Victoria College) Sandra Comisarow (Nursing) Perry Cooper (Medicine) David Drew (Kinesiology) Beverley Giblon (Physical Therapy) Jason Glover (UTSC) Kevin Golding (UTM) Sana Halwani (Law) Nancy E. Hill (Engineering) Nadine Ibrahim (Engineering) Candice Jay (UTM) Doris Kalamut (Pharmacy) Sean Kiefte (Woodsworth) Tracey King (OISE) Joel Leon (Architecture) Paul Lindblad (New College)

Regrets:

Ann Clarke (UTSC) Reza Hassanirad (OISE) Paul Haynes (Victoria College) Rachele Levin (Forestry) Lesley Pollard (Dentistry) Emily VanBerkum (St. Michael's) John Whittall (Trinity) Bryon Wilfert (UTSC)

Guests:

Claire Kennedy, Chair of the Governing Council Professor Meric Gertler, President Harvey Botting, Member of Governing Council Amy Matchen (University College) Victoria McNally (St. Michael's) Sheila V. Neuburger (Social Work) Nikoletta Papadopoulos (OISE) Robert A. Patrick (Innis College) David F. Poirier (Engineering) Peeter Poldre (Medicine) Igor Siljanovski (New College) Maureen L. Simpson (Trinity College) Dorinda So (UTSC) Michael Starogiannis (Engineering) J. Alison Stirling (Information) Ho K Sung (University College) Joanne Thanos (Public Health) Anne Venton (OISE)

Secretariat:

Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council Patrick F. McNeill, Secretary

Guests continued:

Andrew Szende, Member of Governing Council Keith Thomas, Member of Governing Council Bruce Winter, Member of Governing Council Anne Cobban, Director, Alumni Engagement and Partnerships Scott MacKendrick, President, University of Toronto Alumni Association

1. Chair's Remarks

The Chair welcomed members to the final meeting of the 2017-2018 governance year. She thanked President Meric Gertler, Claire Kennedy, Chair of the Governing Council and Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council, for attending.

The Chair drew members' attention to the 2018-2019 Key Dates document that had been included with the meeting material. Dr. Yadav asked members to complete the end-of-year online survey. Their responses would be reviewed by the Executive Committee and would assist with planning for 2018-2019.

The Committee moved In Camera.

2. Report of the Chancellor Search Committee

The Chair gave an overview of the Chancellor Search Committee's Report which was followed by the College's discussion of the Report.

Election of Chancellor

The College held an election for the Chancellor by secret ballot. Once the ballots had been counted, the Chair announced that the Dr. Rose M. Patten, O.C., LL.D., had been elected as Chancellor of the University of Toronto for a three-year term, effective July 1, 2018 until June 30, 2021.

Chancellor Emeritus Designation

On motion duly moved, seconded and carried

It Was Resolved

THAT the College of Electors endorse the proposed designation of Chancellor Michael H. Wilson as *Chancellor Emeritus* of the University of Toronto, effective July 1, 2018.

3. Report of the 2017-2018 Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee (NC-EC) of the College of Electors

The Chair informed the College of the process by which the Executive Committee was elected each year. She said that the 2017-2018 Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee (NC-EC) was composed of three members – Candice Jay, Ho Sung, and Joanne Thanos.

Ms Thanos then presented the Committee's report.

i. Vice-Chair

On motion duly moved, seconded and carried

It Was Resolved

THAT Nadine Ibrahim (FASE), be appointed Vice-Chair of the College of Electors for 2018-2019.

ii. Executive Committee

On motion duly moved, seconded and carried

It Was Resolved

THAT Jason Glover (UTSC), Paul Lindblad (New College) and David Poirier (FASE), be appointed to the Executive Committee of the College of Electors for 2018-2019.

The Chair congratulated the members of the 2018-2019 Executive Committee and thanked the 2017-2018 NC-EC for their work.

4. Selection of the 2018-2019 Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee

The Chair reminded members of the role of the NC-EC. Perry Cooper (Medicine), Kevin Golding (UTM) and Sana Halwani (Law) volunteered to sit on the 2018-2019 NC-EC. The Chair thanked them for their willingness to serve in that capacity.

The Committee Returned to Open Session

College of Electors: Minutes of the College of Electors, May 2, 2018

5. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – February 15, 2018

On a motion duly moved, seconded and carried

It Was Resolved

THAT the minutes of the meeting of February 15, 2018 be approved.

6. Business Arising from the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.

7. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair reminded members that the next meeting would be held on Wednesday, September 26, 2018 from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.

8. Reflections of Alumni Members of the Governing Council

The Chair welcomed the alumni governors who had joined the meeting and invited them to share some of their experiences with the College. In delivering their remarks, the alumni governors spoke on a range of matters, including the following.

- Role as Chair to Business Board, University Affairs Board and other Committees;
- Unique nature of tri-campus governance system;
- Risk issues including financial sustainability and reputation risk
- Equity and diversity issues;
- President's 3 Priorities; and
- Property acquisitions and capital projects (i.e. Landmark project).

The Alumni Governors spoke to the loss of fellow-Governor, John Switzer. Mr. Switzer was highly regarded for his long-time commitment and contributions to Governing Council and the University.

The Chair thanked the alumni governors for their valuable reflections and for their excellent service as ambassadors for the University.

9. Other Business

The Chair thanked members of the 2017-2018 Executive Committee – Oliver Jerschow (Vice-Chair), Kevin Golding, Tracey King and Alison Stirling – for having supported her as Chair of the College. They had given generously of their time and assistance.

Other Business continued:

The Chair also thanked all members of the College for their dedication, and she acknowledged the other members who would end their service on the College this year.

The Chair presented a certificate of appreciation to the following out-going members:

- David Drew (KPE)
- Candice Jay (UTM)
- Peeter Poldre (Medicine)
- Ho K. Sung (UC)
- Joanne Thanos (DLSPH)
- Ann Clarke (UTSC)
- Reza Hassanirad (OISE)

Members of the College expressed their appreciation to the Chair and Secretary.

The Chair invited members and guests to a reception that followed the meeting.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 6:40 p.m.

Secretary

Chair

May 7, 2018