#### **UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO**

#### **REPORT NUMBER 2 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE**

### May 22, 2018

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Tuesday, May 22, 2018, at 3 p.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall.

#### Present:

Nicholas Terpstra (Vice-Chair) Sioban Nelson Donald Ainslie Samantha Chang (By Teleconference) David Dubins

Cheryl Regehr

Joan Griffin, Secretary

Regrets: Andrea Sass-Kortsak (Chair) Meric Gertler Claire Kennedy Emmanuel Nikiema

#### In Attendance:

Markus Stock, Vice-Chair, Academic Policy and Programs Archana Sridhar, Assistant Provost

### 1. Chair's Remarks

Professor Nicholas Terpstra, Vice-Chair Chaired the meeting, in Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak's absence.

### 2. Approval of Academic Board Agenda

The Committee reviewed the draft agenda for the Academic Board meeting on May 31, 2018. The Provost indicated that she would not have an individual report this meeting, but would be speaking to various agenda items.

The agenda includes the approval of three new programs: PhD. in Architecture, Landscape and Design, Master of Urban Innovation (UTM) and Master of Science in Pharmacy, as well as the approval of a Second Degree Policy for UTSC.

The Factor-Inwentash Faculty of Social Work Academic Plan and teaching guidelines for UTM, Engineering and Dentistry are all to be presented for information.

Items for information include seven reports, with the Annual Report from COU Academic Colleague, Semi-Annual Reports from the University Tribunal and Academic Appeals Committee, and Committee Reports from Agenda, AP&P and P&B all to be received for approval.

## The Committee moved In Camera.

## 3. Approval of Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 240, from the meeting on May 5, 2018 and Report Number 241, from the meeting on May 11, 2018 were approved.

## 4. Business Arising from the Reports of the Previous Meetings

There was no business arising from the Reports of the previous meetings.

## 5. Date of the Next Meeting

The Chair stated that the next meeting would be held on Friday, June 8, 2018 from 3:00 - 4:00 p.m.

## 6. Other Business

There were no items of other business.

# The Committee moved *In Camera*.

# 7. Academic Administrative Appointments

On a motion duly moved, seconded and carried

# YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

The following academic administrative appointments.

DALLA LANA SCHOOL OF PUBLIC HEALTH	
Associate Professor France Gagnon	June 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019
Associate Dean, Research	[Extension]
FACTOR-INWENTASH FACULTY OF SOCIAL WORK	
Associate Professor Barbara Fallon	July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019 [Extension]
Associate Dean, Research	
FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE & ENGINEERING	
Associate Professor Thomas Coyle	July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2020 [Extension]
Vice-Dean, Undergraduate	
]	
FACULTY OF ARTS & SCIENCE	
Professor Suzanne Akbari	July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2021
Director, Centre for Medieval Studies	[Renewal; includes 1-year approved leave]
Professor Robert Batey	July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2024
Chair, Department of Chemistry	[Renewal; includes 1-year approved leave]
Professor Janice Boddy	July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2021
Chair, Department of Anthropology	
Associate Professor Carol Chin	July 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018
Acting Chair, History	July 1, 2010 to Determiner 31, 2010
Associate Professor Richard DiFrancesco	July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2023
Chair, Department of Geography & Planning	
······,	
Associate Professor Ann Komaromi	July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019
Acting Director	
Centre for Comparative Literature	
Professor Michael Luke	July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019
Acting Chair, Department of Physics	July 1, 2016 to Julie 50, 2019
Acting chair, Department of Physics	
Professor Ue-Li Pen	July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2019
Interim Director, Canadian Institute for	[Extension]
Theoretical Astrophysics	

Professor Alison Smith	July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2024
Chair, Department of History	[includes two 6-month approved leaves]
Professor Kimberly Strong	July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2024
Chair, Department of Physics	[includes 1-year approved leave]
Professor Sali Tagliamonte	July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2024
Chair, Department of Linguistics	[includes 1-year approved leave]
FACULTY OF MEDICINE	
Professor John Kingdom	July 1, 2018 to December 31, 2023
Chair, Department of Obstetrics &	[Renewal; includes 6-month approved leave]
Gynecology	
LAWRENCE S. BLOOMBERG FACULTY O	FNURSING
Professor Ann Tourangeau	July 1, 2019 to June 30, 2024
Associate Dean, Academic	[Renewal]
UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO MISSISSAUG	Α
Professor Kent Moore	July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2021
Vice-Principal, Research	
UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO SCARBOROUGH	
Professor Thembela Kepe	July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2023
Chair, Department of Human Geography	
Professor Michael Molloy	July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2023
Chair, Department of Computer and	
Mathematical Sciences	

# The Committee returned to closed session.

The meeting adjourned at 3:50 p.m.

Report Number 242 of the Agenda Committee – May 11, 2018

Secretary

Chair

May 22, 2018