UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

COLLEGE OF ELECTORS

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Wednesday, February 15, 2018 at 5:00 p.m. in Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall.

Present:

Oliver Jerschow (University College) (In the Chair) Dan Acheson (Woodsworth College) Neville Austin (Faculty of Music) Taleen Chouljian (Rotman) Ann Clarke (UTSC) Sandra Comisarow (Nursing) Perry Cooper (Medicine) David Drew (Kinesiology) Sheree Drummond Jason Glover (UTSC) Kevin Golding (UTM) Sana Halwani (Law) Nancy E. Hill (Engineering) Nadine Ibrahim (Engineering) Candice Jay (UTM)

Secretariat:

Mr. Patrick McNeill, Secretary

Regrets:

Josephine L. Comegna (Victoria College) Beverley Giblon (Physical Therapy) Reza Hassanirad (OISE) Paul Haynes (Victoria College) Doris Kalamut (Pharmacy) Joel Leon (Architecture) Rachele Levin (Forestry) Sheila V. Neuburger (Social Work) Lesley Pollard (Dentistry) Dorinda So (UTSC) Anne Venton (OISE) John Whittall (Trinity) Bryon Wilfert (UTSC) Geeta Yadav (University College - UTAA) Sean Kiefte (Woodsworth) Tracey King (OISE) Paul Lindblad (New College) Amy Matchen (University College) Nikoletta Papadopoulos (OISE) Robert A. Patrick (Innis College) David F. Poirier (Engineering) Peeter Poldre (Medicine) Igor Siljanovski (New College) Maureen L. Simpson (Trinity College) Michael Starogiannis (Engineering) J. Alison Stirling (Information) Ho K Sung (University College) Joanne Thanos (Public Health)

OPEN SESSION

1. Chair's Remarks

Oliver Jerschow, Vice-Chair, welcomed members to the meeting. He extended regrets on behalf of Geeta Yadav, Chair, who was unable to attend.

CONSENT AGENDA

The Vice-Chair noted that of the items listed on the Consent Agenda, one (Item 2) required approval and the others were for information only.

On a motion duly moved, seconded and carried

YOUR BOARD APPROVED

THAT the consent agenda be adopted and items approved.

2. Minutes of the Previous Meeting

The minutes of the meeting of January 23, 2018 were approved.

3. Business Arising from the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.

4. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair reminded members that the next meeting would be held on Wednesday, May 2, 2018 from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.

The College moved *In Camera*.

5. Election of Alumni Governors

The Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG) reported to the College on the interviews of candidates that had been held and on the Committee's recommendations.

Discussion of each candidate then took place and the NC-AG responded to questions posed by members.

Election of Alumni Governors continued:

The following alumni members of the Governing Council were re-elected:

Andrew Szende elected to the Governing Council for term from July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2021 [B.A. (University College), 1967]; and

Bruce Winter elected for a term from July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2021. [B.Com. (Trinity College), 1977].

The College members and Vice-Chair expressed thanks to the members of the Nominating Committee - Alumni Governors (NC-AG) for their work.

The College Returned to Open Session

6. Nomination Process 2018-2019 Executive Committee of the College of Electors

Candice Jay, a member of the Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee (NC-EC) provided some background information about the membership process outlined in the Constitution. Continuing members were encouraged to consider applying to serve on the 2018-2019 Executive Committee.

The application deadline was Thursday, March 22, 2018. The NC-EC would prepare a recommendation to the College for its final meeting.

7. Other Business

The Vice-Chair reported that an invitation would be extended to the current sitting Alumni Governors to attend the May 2, 2018 meeting of the College. He also indicated that it was expected that members would receive the Report of the Chancellor Search Committee.

Adjournment

The meeting adjourned at 6:16 p.m.

Secretary

Chair

February 16, 2018