UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

REPORT NUMBER 233 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

June 6, 2017

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Tuesday, June 6, 2017, at 3:10 p.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall.

Present: Professor Nicholas Terpstra (In the Chair)

Professor Sioban Nelson Dr. Graham Cromar

Professor Emmanuel Nikiema*

Professor Cheryl Regehr

Professor Elizabeth M. Smyth* Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary

Regrets: Dr. Dana Philpott

Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak Professor Steven J. Thorpe

In Attendance: Ms Archana Sridhar, Assistant Provost

Professor Nicholas Terpstra, Vice-Chair of the Committee, welcomed members to the meeting. He noted that Professor Sass-Kortsak sent her regrets; he would Chair the meeting on her behalf.

1. Approval of the Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 232, from the meeting of May 17, 2017, was approved.

2. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from the Report of the previous meeting.

3. Date of the Next Meeting

The Chair stated that the next meeting would be held on Tuesday, June 27, 2017 from 1:00 – 2:00 p.m.

^{*}Participated by teleconference.

Report Number 233 of the Agenda Committee – June 6, 2017

4. Other Business

There were no items of other business.

The Committee moved *in camera*.

5. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

The following academic administrative appointments.

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Sherif El-Defrawy Chair

Department of Ophthalmology & Vision

Sciences

July 1, 2017 to December 31, 2022

[Renewal; includes 6-month approved leave]

Professor Juan Carlos Zúñiga-Pflücker Chair and Graduate Chair

Department of Immunology July 1, 2017 to March 31, 2023

[Renewal; includes 9-month approved leave]

LAWRENCE S. BLOOMBERG FACULTY OF NURSING

Professor Kelly Metcalfe Acting Associate Dean, Research & External

Relations

January 1, 2018 to December 31, 2018

NEW COLLEGE

Associate Professor Bonnie McElhinny Principal

July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2022

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Professor George Arhonditsis Graduate Chair

Department of Physical and Environmental

Science, UTSC

July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2022

Associate Professor Antoinette Handley	Graduate Chair Department of Political Science July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2023 [Includes a one-year approved leave]
Professor Carl Knappett	Graduate Chair Department of Art July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2022
Professor Jeremy Quastel	Graduate Chair Department of Mathematics July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2020
The Committee returned to closed sessio	n.
The mee	eting adjourned at 3:20 p.m.
Secretary	Chair

Report Number 233 of the Agenda Committee – June 6, 2017

June 19, 2017