UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

REPORT NUMBER 232 OF THE AGENDA COMMITTEE

May 17, 2017

To the Academic Board, University of Toronto

Your Committee reports that it held a meeting on Wednesday, May 17, 2017, at 4:00 p.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall.

Present:	Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak (Chair) Professor Nicholas Terpstra (Vice-Chair) Dr. Graham Cromar
	Professor Sioban Nelson
	Professor Emmanuel Nikiema*
	Dr. Dana Philpott
	Professor Elizabeth M. Smyth*
	Professor Steven J. Thorpe

Ms Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary

*Participated by teleconference.

Regrets:	Professor Cheryl Regehr
In Attendance:	 Dr. Daniella Mallinick, Director, Academic Programs, Planning, and Quality Assurance Ms Archana Sridhar, Assistant Provost Mr. Bruce Winter, Vice-Chair, Planning and Budget Committee (present for Item 1)

1. Academic Board Agenda

The Committee reviewed the draft agenda for the May 29th Academic Board meeting. The Committee considered ways in which Academic Board members might be encouraged to complete the end-of-year survey, in order to increase the response rate from previous years. Members then provided feedback for agenda item sponsors in order to aid with their preparation for the meeting.

During discussion of the proposed revision of the *Policy on Capital Planning and Capital Projects*, the Committee was informed that the *Policy* had been amended following its recommendation for approval by the Planning and Budget Committee on May 10th. Further clarification on the project budget increases approval processes for Levels 1, 2, and 3 had been added, but no substantive changes had been made. The Committee agreed that the changes would help strengthen the *Policy* and should be forwarded to the Board.

Updated May 19, 2017

Report Number 232 of the Agenda Committee – May 17, 2017

2. Approval of the Report of the Previous Meeting

Report Number 231, from the meeting of April 11, 2017, was approved.

3. Business Arising from the Report of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from the Report of the previous meeting.

4. Date of the Next Meeting

The Chair stated that she would be unable to attend the next meeting scheduled for Tuesday, June 6, 2017 from 3:00 - 4:00 p.m. She thanked the Vice-Chair for agreeing to Chair the meeting on her behalf.

5. Other Business

There were no items of other business.

The Committee moved *in camera*.

6. Appointments: 2017 - 2018 Nominating Committee for the University Tribunal and the Academic Appeals Committee.

On a motion duly moved, seconded and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

THAT the following individuals be appointed to the 2017 - 2018 Nominating Committee for the University Tribunal and the Academic Appeals Committee for a term from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018.

Professor Edward Iacobucci, Chair and President's designate Professor Ben Alarie, teaching staff member of the Academic Board Mr. Peng Fu, alumni member of the Academic Board Ms Alena Zelinka, student member of the Academic Board

7. Academic Administrative Appointments

On motion duly moved, seconded and carried

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

The following academic administrative appointments:

DALLA LANA SCHOOL OF PUBLIC HEALTH

Professor Rhonda Cockerill	Acting Director Institute of Health Policy, Management, and Evaluation July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018
Associate Professor France Gagnon	Associate Dean, Research June 1, 2017 to May 30, 2018
FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE & ENGINEERING	
Professor Markus Bussmann	Chair Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2022
FACULTY OF ARTS & SCIENCE	
Professor Carl Knappett	Chair Department of the History of Art July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2022
Professor Leonid Livak	Acting Chair Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018
Professor Donna Orwin	Chair Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2021 [<i>Renewal; includes 1 year approved leave</i>]
Professor Ue-Li Pen	Interim Director Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018 [<i>Extension</i>]

Report Number 232 of the Agenda Committee – May 17, 2017

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Associate Professor Thomas Kislinger

Chair and Graduate Chair Department of Medical Biophysics July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2022

Professor Beverley Orser

FACULTY OF MUSIC

Associate Professor Sherry Lee

Department of Anesthesia July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2022

Chair

Associate Dean, Research July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2019 [*Extension*]

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Professor Alexie Tcheuyap

Graduate Chair Department of French July 1, 2017 to December 31, 2022

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO MISSISSAUGA

Professor Gary Crawford

Interim Chair Department of Anthropology July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018

Professor Esteban Parra

Chair Department of Anthropology July 1, 2018 to June 30, 2021

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO SCARBOROUGH

Associate Professor Marc Cadotte

Associate Professor Sonia Sedivy

Acting Vice-Principal, Research July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018

Chair Department of Philosophy July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2021 [*Includes 1 year approved leave*] Page 4 of 5

Report Number 232 of the Agenda Committee – May 17, 2017

Associate Professor Daniel Silver

Acting Chair Department of Sociology July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2018

The Committee returned to closed session.

The meeting adjourned at 3:58 p.m.

Secretary

Chair

May 19, 2017