UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

COLLEGE OF ELECTORS

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Thursday, February 16, 2017 at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall.

Present:

Dr. Geeta Yadav (University College) (Chair)

Ms Marian D. Hebb (Victoria College) (Vice-Chair)

Mr. Dan Acheson (Woodsworth College)

Ms Taleen Chouljian (Rotman)

Ms Monifa M. Colthurst (University College)

Dr. Perry Cooper (Medicine)

Mr. David Drew (Kinesiology)

Mr. Stan Gasner (Engineering)

Ms Beverley Giblon (Physical Therapy)

Mr. Jason Glover (UTSC)

Mr. Kevin Golding (UTM)

Ms Sana Halwani (Law)

Ms Nadine Ibrahim (Engineering)

Mr. David Jaeger (Music)

Ms Candice Jay (UTM)

Mr. Oliver Jerschow (University College)

Ms Tracey King (OISE)

Mr. Joel Leon (FALD)

Mr. Paul Lindblad (New College)

Dr. Natoosha Nargaski (Dentistry)

Mr. Robert A. Patrick (Innis College)

Mr. David F. Poirier (Engineering)

Dr. Peeter Poldre (Medicine)

Mr. Igor Siljanovski (New College)

Ms Maureen L. Simpson (Trinity College)

Ms J. Alison Stirling (Information)

Mr. Ho K Sung (University College)

Ms Joanne Thanos (Public Health)

Ms Elizabeth Trotter (Woodsworth College)

Mr. Kenny Yu (UTSC)

Secretariat:

Mr. Patrick McNeill (Acting Secretary)

Regrets:

Mr. Mike K. Amos (UTM)

Ms Mary Ellen J. Burns (St. Michael's College)

Ms Ann Clarke (UTSC)

Ms Josephine L. Comegna (Victoria College)

Ms Sandra Comisarow (Nursing)

Mr. Gabriel Didiano (UTM)

Mr. Reza Hassanirad (OISE)

Ms Nancy E. Hill (Engineering)

Ms Rachele Levin (Forestry)

Mr. Andrew Manis (St. Michael's College)

Ms Sheila V. Neuburger (Social Work)

Ms Nikoletta Papadopoulos (OISE)

Ms Valerie Story (Victoria College)

Ms Anne Venton (OISE)

The Honourable Bryon Wilfert (UTSC)

1. Vice-Chair's Remarks

The Vice-Chair welcomed members to the meeting and on behalf of the Chair proceeded with a revised order of the agenda moving Item 6 to Item 5.

CONSENT AGENDA

The Vice-Chair noted that of the items listed on the Consent Agenda, one (Item 2) required approval and the others were for information only.

On motion, duly moved, seconded, and carried

It was Resolved

THAT the Consent Agenda be adopted and that the item be approved.

2. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – January 24, 2017

The minutes of the meeting of January 24, 2017 were approved with one minor correction.

3. Business Arising from the Minutes of the Previous Meeting

There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.

4. Next Meeting – May 2, 2017

The Vice-Chair reminded members that the next meeting would be held on Tuesday, May 2, 2017, from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.

5. Nominations for the 2016-2017 Executive Committee of the College of Electors

Mr. Stan Gasner, a member of the Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee (NC-EC) provided some background information about the membership process outlined in the Constitution. Continuing members were encouraged to consider applying to serve on the 2017-2018 Executive Committee. The application deadline was Thursday, March 23, 2017. The NC-EC would prepare a recommendation to the College for its final meeting.

Dr. Geeta arrived and assumed the Chair.

The College moved in camera.

University of Toronto

Minutes of the College of Electors – February 16, 2017

6. Election of Alumni Members

The Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG) reported to the College on the interviews of candidates that had been held and on the Committee's recommendations.

Discussion of each candidate then took place and the NC-AG responded to questions posed by members.

The following alumni members of the Governing Council were re-elected.

Mr. David Bowden elected to the Governing Council for a three-year term from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2020 [B.A.Sc. (1979), FASE; M.B.A. (1989), Rotman];

Mr. Gary Goldberg elected to the Governing Council for a three-year term from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2020 [B.A. (1972), University College]; and

Mr. Keith Thomas elected to the Governing Council for a three-year term from July 1, 2017 to June 30, 2020 [B.A.Sc. (1987), FASE; M.A. Economics (1989)].

The College members and Chair expressed thanks to the members of the Nominating Committee - Alumni Governors (NC-AG) for their work.

The Committee returned to Open Session

7. Other Business

The Chair reported that an invitation would be extended to the current sitting Alumni Governors to attend the May 2, 2017 meeting of the College.

	The meeting adjourned at 7:10 p.m.	
Secretary	Chair	
February 17, 2017		