UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

COLLEGE OF ELECTORS

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Monday, February 22, 2016 at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall, at which the following were present:

Mr. R. Scott MacKendrick (UTAA - In the Chair) Mr. Paul Malozewski (FASE - Vice-Chair) Ms Fariba Anderson (Rotman) Mr. James E. Appleyard (Trinity) Professor David Bernhardt (Victoria College) Ms. Mary Ellen Burns (St Michael's College) Ms Ann Clarke (UTSC) Ms Monifa M. Colthurst (University College) Ms. Sandra Margaret Comisarow (Nursing) Dr. Perry Cooper (Medicine) Mr. Stan Gasner (Engineering) Ms Sana Halwani (Law) Ms Marian D. Hebb (Victoria College) Ms Nadine Ibrahim (FASE) Ms Candice Jay (UTM) Mr. Oliver Jerschow (University College)

Regrets:

Mr. Mike Amos (UTM) Dr. Narendra Kumar Daljeet (Dentistry) Mr. David Drew (KPE) Mr. Kavijit Singh Gogia (OISE) Mr. Kevin Golding (UTM) Mr. Samuel J. Hirsch (Pharmacy) Mr. David T. Jaeger (Music) Ms Tracey King (OISE) Mr. Andrew Manis (St. Michael's College) Dr. Ivan O. McFarlane (Trinity) Mr. Robert A. Patrick (Innis) Ms Lesley R. Riedstra (New College) Ms Lindsay K. Shaddy (OISE) Mr. Ed Hersh Shaul (Social Work) Ms Margaret Shaw (PT/OT) Mr. Igor Siljanovski (New College) Ms J. Alison Stirling (FIS) Mr. Ho K Sung (University College) Ms Joanne Thanos (Public Health) Ms. Elizabeth Trotter (Woodsworth College) The Honourable Bryon Wilfert (UTSC) Mr. Kenny Yu (UTSC)

Ms. Christine Leduc (Forestry) Mr. Aly-Khan Madhavji (UTM) Ms. Krishana Michaud (Woodsworth) Dr. Peeter Poldre (Medicine) Mr. Peter A. Rogers (St. Michael's College) Ms Valerie Story (Victoria College) Mr. Bing Young (Engineering)

Secretariat: Mr. Patrick McNeill, Secretary

The College met in camera to consider item 5 (as revised).

1. Chair's Remarks

The Chair welcomed members to the meeting.

CONSENT AGENDA

The Chair noted that of the items listed on the Consent Agenda, one (Item 2) required approval and the others were for information only.

On motion, duly moved, seconded, and carried

It was Resolved

THAT the Consent Agenda be adopted and that the items be approved.

2. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – January 26, 2016

The minutes were approved, as revised.

3. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.

4. Date of the Next Meeting

The Chair said that the next meeting would be held on Tuesday, May 3, 2016, from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried, the College moved in camera.

5. Election of Alumni Members

The Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG) reported to the College on the interviews of candidates that had been held and on the Committee's recommendations. Discussion of each candidate then took place and the NC-AG responded to questions posed by members.

The following alumni members of the Governing Council were elected.

Mr. Harvey Botting for a second term from July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2019. [B.A. (1967), Victoria College; MBA (1985), Rotman]

Mr. Nick Kuryluk for a third term from July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2019. [B.Sc. (1989), UTM]

Ms Samra Zafar for a term from July 1, 2016 to June 30, 2019. [B.Sc. (Honours) (2013); M.A. (2014)]

The College members and Chair expressed thanks to the members of the Nominating Committee - Alumni Governors (NC-AG) for their work.

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried, the College returned to open session.

6. Nominations for the 2016-2017 Executive Committee of the College of Electors

Ms Lesley Riedstra, a member of the NC-EC provided some background with respect to the process outlined in the Constitution. Continuing members were encouraged to consider applying to serve on the 2016-2017 Executive Committee. The application deadline was Wednesday,

March 30, 2016. The NC-EC would prepare a recommendation to the College for its next meeting.

7. Other Business

The Chair encouraged members to attend a Governing Council meeting or a Board/Committee meeting.

An invitation would be extended to the current sitting Alumni Governors and the Alumni Governor-Elect to attend the May 3, 2016 meeting of the College.

The meeting adjourned at 6:20 p.m.

Secretary

Chair

February 25, 2016