#### UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

## **COLLEGE OF ELECTORS**

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Tuesday, January 26, 2016 at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall, at which the following were present:

Mr. R. Scott MacKendrick (UTAA - In the Chair) Mr. Oliver Jerschow (University College)

Mr. Paul Malozewski (Vice-Chair) Ms Tracey King (OISE)

Mr. Andrew Manis (St. Michael's College) Mr. Mike Amos (UTM)

Ms Fariba Anderson (Rotman)

Dr. Ivan O. McFarlane (Trinity) Professor David Bernhardt (Victoria College) Mr. Robert A. Patrick (Innis)

Ms Ann Clarke (UTSC) Ms Lesley R. Riedstra (New College)

Ms Monifa M. Colthurst (University College) Mr. Peter A. Rogers (St. Michael's College)

Dr. Narendra Kumar Daljeet (Dentistry) Ms Lindsay K. Shaddy (OISE) Mr. David Drew (KPE) Mr. Ed Hersh Shaul (Social Work) Mr. Stan Gasner (Engineering) Ms Margaret Shaw (PT/OT)

Mr. Kevin Golding (UTM) Mr. Igor Siljanovski (New College)

Ms Sana Halwani (Law) Ms J. Alison Stirling (FIS)

Ms Marian D. Hebb (Victoria College) Mr. Ho K Sung (University College) Mr. Samuel J. Hirsch (Pharmacy) Ms Joanne Thanos (Public Health)

Mr. David T. Jaeger (Music) Mr. Kenny Yu (UTSC) Ms Candice Jay (UTM)

**Regrets:** 

Mr. James E. Appleyard (Trinity) Mr. Aly-Khan Madhavji (UTM)

Ms. Mary Ellen Burns (St Michael's College) Ms. Krishana Michaud (Woodsworth)

Ms. Sandra Margaret Comisarow (Nursing) Dr. Peeter Poldre (Medicine)

Dr. Perry Cooper (Medicine) Ms Valerie Story (Victoria College)

Mr. Kavijit Singh Gogia (OISE) Ms. Elizabeth Trotter (Woodsworth College) Ms. Layan Kutob (Engineering) The Honourable Bryon Wilfert (UTSC)

Ms. Christine Leduc (Forestry) Mr. Bing Young (Engineering)

Secretariat: Mr. Patrick McNeill, Secretary, College of Electors

The College met in camera to consider items 5 and 6

The Chair called the meeting to order.

#### 1. Chair's Remarks

The Chair welcomed members to the open session of the meeting and introduced Mr. Andrew Manis representing (St. Michael's College)

#### **CONSENT AGENDA**

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried,

The consent agenda was adopted and the items on it were approved.

## 2. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – November 3, 2015

The minutes were approved.

## 3. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.

## 4. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair noted that the next meeting of the College of Electors was scheduled to be held from 5 to 7 p.m. on Monday, February 22, 2016.

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried, the College moved in camera.

# 5. Review of Alumni Governor Applications

The Chair reported on the work of the Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG), which had met on January 14, 2016 to conduct an initial assessment of the alumni governor application forms that had been received.

The College then discussed the applicants and identified a list of candidates to be interviewed to attend an interview with the NC-AG.

## 6. Review of Interview Questions and Interview Procedures

The College reviewed the draft interview questions for 2016.

The Chair reported that following the meeting, each applicant would be informed by the Secretary, as to whether or not he/she had been invited to attend an interview with the NC-AG on Monday, February 8, 2016.

After the interviews had been completed, the Report of the NC-AG would be prepared including the Committee's recommendations; and would be forwarded to the College for the next meeting.

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried, the College returned to open session.

#### 7. Other Business

# <u>Update – Ad Hoc Working Group</u>

Ms Lesley Riedstra presented an oral update on the activity of the Ad Hoc Working Group, which had met in early November 2015 to initiate a discussion to identify continued improved alumni governor recruitment approaches and strategies; and issues of diversity.

Ms Riedstra stated that the Group had created three sub-groups with each tasked with a specific focus, as follows:

Sub Group No. 1: Nomination Form & Process

Explore opportunities to enhance nomination form to ensure inclusiveness and
ease of access; and, determine if changes to the process for nominating candidates
needs to be modified or augmented to encourage candidates from a cross section
of demographics.

Sub Group No. 2: Marketing Strategy

Review the current mandatory material to determine if any changes need to be
made to enhance the message presented to attract a more diverse pool of
candidates; and, consider possible alternative means of marketing to the Alumni
base to augment required material, to ensure it appeals to a cross section of
demographics.

Sub Group No. 3: Volunteerism Strategies

• Examine approaches to improve the pool of candidates for Alumni nomination to the Governing Council by providing opportunities for, and nurturing candidates within, the volunteer community at UofT; and, determine what educational programs are required.

The Chair thanked Ms Riedstra for her update and expressed appreciation to the members for their excellent work to date – he looked forward to their Report.

## Decision of Mr. Aly Madhavji

The Chair reported that Mr. Aly Madhavji had decided to step down as a member of the Executive Committee. He noted that Mr. Madhavji would continue to represent UTM on the College.

The Chair reminded members that the next meeting of the College was scheduled to be held on Monday, February 22, 2016 from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.

|                  | The meeting adjourned at 6:55 p.m. |  |
|------------------|------------------------------------|--|
| Secretary        | Chair                              |  |
| February 3, 2016 |                                    |  |