UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

Friday, July 7, 2000

MINUTES OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL special meeting held on Friday, July 7, 2000 at 8:30 a.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall.

Present:

Ms Wendy M. Cecil-Cockwell (In the Chair)
Ms Mary Anne V. Chambers, Vice-Chair
Professor Robert J. Birgeneau, President
Mr. Muhammad Basil Ahmad
Dr. Robert Bennett
Ms Jennifer Carson

Ms Rose M. Patten
Mr. Fayez A. Quereshy
Professor Emmet I. Robbins
Mrs. Susan M. Scace
Professor Kenneth Sevcik
Professor Chandrakant P. Shah

Professor Brian Corman

Professor W. Raymond Cummins

Professor Chandrakant P. Shall Mr. Amir Shalaby

Mr. Terrence L. Stephen

Mr. Brian Davis
Ms Susan Eng
Ms Naana Afua Jumah
Mr. Terrence L. Stephen
Ms Wendy Talfourd-Jones
Professor Ronald D. Venter
Ms Nancy L. Watson

Ms Naana Afua Jumah Ms Nancy L. Watson Mr. Josh Koziebrocki Professor Brian Langille Professor Brian Langille

Ms Karen Lewis Mr. Louis R. Charpentier,

Mr. Gerald A. Lokash

Secretary of the Governing Council

Professor Ian R. McDonald

Professor Heather Munroe-Blum
Dr. John P. Nestor

Mr. Elan Ohayon Ms Susan Girard Ms Jacqueline C. Orange Ms Margaret McKone

Absent:

Professor Mary Beattie Professor Vivek Goel
Mr. Brian C. Burchell Dr. Anne Golden
Professor Lock Corr.
The Honourable Henry

Professor Jack Carr
The Honourable Henry N. R. Jackman
The Honourable William G. Davis
Ms Wanda M. Dorosz
The Honourable David R. Peterson
The Honourable Robert K. Rae

Dr. Shari Graham Fell
Mr. Ljupco Gjorgjinski
Mr. Paul V. Godfrey

Dr. Joseph L. Rotman
Professor Adel S. Sedra

In Attendance:

Ms Cathy McCauley, Executive Assistant to the President, Director of Special Events and Associate Campaign Director

Mr. Kasi Rao, Director of the Office of the President and Director of Government Relations

IN ACCORDANCE WITH A DETERMINATION BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE PURSUANT TO SECTION 38 OF BY-LAW NUMBER 2, THE GOVERNING COUNCIL CONSIDERED ITEM 1 *IN CAMERA*.

1. Senior Appointment

After discussion,

On motion duly moved and seconded,

It was RESOLVED

THAT Dr. Sheldon H. Levy be appointed Vice-President, Government and Institutional Relations, effective January 1, 2001 for a period of five and one half years until June 30, 2006, renewable by the Governing Council for a further five years, subject to the terms of his appointment being approved by the Senior Salary Committee.

THAT, if an earlier effective date is feasible, the effective date will be moved forward at the discretion of the President with Dr. Levy's terms continuing until June 30, 2006.

Secretary	Chairman	
g		

The meeting adjourned at 9:25 a.m.

September 6, 2000