UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

COLLEGE OF ELECTORS

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Wednesday, May 22, 2013 at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall, at which the following were present:

Mr. Luke Pollard (UTAA – Chair)

Ms Sue Graham-Nutter (UTSC – Vice

Chair)

Ms Jeannie An (Information)

Mr. Bob Boeckner (University College)

Dr. Alexandra Berezowskyj (Medicine)

Professor David Bernhardt (Victoria

College)

Mr. Corwin Cambray (SGS)

Mr. Ken Davy (Woodsworth)

Ms L. Diane Dyer (Victoria College)

Mr. Tye Farrow (Architecture, Landscape

and Design)

Ms Tammy Fernandes (University College)

Dr. Sema Kenan (OISE)

Ms Sadia Mahmood (Public Health)

Mr. Paul Malozewski (Engineering)

Dr. Lesley Pollard (Dentistry)

Ms Ceta Ramkhalawansingh (New)

Mr. John Richardson (Victoria)

Ms Lesley Riedstra (New)

Mr. Peter Rogers (St. Michael's)

Ms Lindsay Shaddy (OISE)

Ms Mary Shenstone (Trinity)

Mr. Mathew Szeto (Engineering)

Ms Joanne Uyede (Innis)

Ms. Anne Venton

Professor Emerita Judy Watt-Watson

(Nursing)

Ms Lucinda Williams (Woodsworth)

Ms Susan Q. Wilson (Music)

Mr. David Windross (Pharmacy)

Dr. Helen Parsan Ziral (OISE)

Regrets:

Mr. Ryan Ackers

Ms Fariba Anderson (Rotman)

Ms Carol Bisnath (UTM)

Mr. Norm Hann (Engineering)

Rev. David Harrison (SGS)

Ms Sara Hipson (Forestry)

Mr. Rodney Hurd (UTSC)

Mr. Kristopher Kibsey (UTM)

Dr. Francesca La Marca (St. Michael's)

Mr. David Lucatch (UTSC)

Dr. Ivan Owen McFarlane (Trinity)

Ms Paula Paunic (Kinesiology and Physical

Education)

Secretary: Mr. Anwar Kazimi

Ms Margaret Shaw (Physical Therapy and Occupational Therapy)

Mr. Al Smith (UTM)

Dr. Malcolm Stewart (Social Work)

Mr. W. Grant Worden (Law)

The College met in camera to consider items 1 and 2

1. Election of the 2013-2014 Executive Committee

At the invitation of the Chair, Mr. John Richardson, a member of the 2012-2013 Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee (NC-EC), presented the Committee's report.

(a) <u>Vice-Chair</u>

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

The College of Electors APPROVED

THAT Mr. Tye Farrow be appointed Vice-Chair of the College of Electors for 2013-2014.

(b) Executive Members

On the motion duly moved, seconded, and carried

The College of Electors APPROVED

THAT Mr. Corwin Cambray, Ms Ceta Ramkhalawansingh, and Ms Mary Shenstone be re-appointed to the Executive Committee of the College of Electors for 2013-2014.

The Chair congratulated the members of the 2013-2014 Executive Committee. On behalf of the College, the Chair extended thanks to the Nominating Committee for the care they exercised in identifying members of the Executive Committee.

2. Selection of the 2013-2014 Nominating Committee for the Executive Committee

The Chair outlined the role of the NC-EC, which was composed of three individuals chosen by election or formed of volunteers from among members in their final year on the College. As the College just had seen, the NC-EC was responsible for recommending the Vice-Chair and three other members of the Executive Committee of the College. The NC-EC normally met once a year following the close of the Executive Committee nomination period to review the applications received and to develop its recommendations to the College. Dr. Alexandra Berezowskyj, Rev. David Harrison and Ms Sadia Mahmood volunteered to serve on the 2013-2014 NC-EC.

The College returned to open session.

3. Minutes of the Previous Meeting

The minutes of the meeting of March 6, 2013, were approved.

4. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.

5. 2013-2014 Meeting Schedule

Members received an annotated meeting schedule for 2013-2014. Members requested a review of some meeting dates and the Chair said that this request would be considered by the Office of the Governing Council.

6. Other Business

The Chair encouraged members to attend meetings of the Governing Council and its Boards and Committees in order to gain a better understanding of the types of business items considered by central governance bodies. The Chair noted that the next meeting of the Governing Council would be held on May 23, 2013 at UTM.

The Chair thanked members of the Executive Committee and acknowledged their valuable input and advice during the past year. He reserved special thanks for Ms Sue Graham-Nutter who had chaired two meetings in his absence.

The Chair also thanked all members of the College for their service. The following members whose terms would end as of June 30, 2013 received certificates of appreciation on behalf of the Governing Council and the College:

- o Ms Sue Graham-Nutter, Vice-Chair, University of Toronto Scarborough
- o Mr. Ryan Ackers, University College
- o Ms Diane Dyer, Victoria College
- o Mr. Norm Hann, Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering
- o Dr. Sema Kenan, OISE
- o Ms Paula Paunic, Faculty of Applied Kinesiology and Physical Education
- o Mr. John Richardson, Victoria College
- o Mr. Al Smith, University of Toronto Mississauga
- o Ms Anne Venton, OISE
- o Ms Susan Wilson, Faculty of Music

The College briefly discussed various procedures by which the report of the NC-AG could be presented to the College at future meetings. A number of members expressed their support for the process by which the report of the NC-AG was presented to the College for the election of alumni governors.

A member reported on a recent Business Board meeting that he had attended and where the discussion had focussed on the tuition fees and provincial funding. Another member informed the College that she had attended the meeting of the Governing Council on February 27, 2013.

| | The meeting adjourned at 5:40 p.m. | | |
|--------------|------------------------------------|-------|--|
| | | | |
| | | | |
| | | | |
| Secretary | | Chair | |
| May 20, 2012 | | | |

May 29, 2013