UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT NUMBER 387 OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

April 26, 2005

To the Governing Council, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a special meeting on Tuesday, April 26, 2005 at 7:30 a.m. in the Boardroom, Simcoe Hall, with the following members present:

Ms. Rose M Patten, Chair, and Chair of the Presidential Search Committee The Honourable Frank Iacobucci, Interim

President Mr. Brian Davis

The Hon. William G. Davis

Ms. Susan Eng Dr. Shari Graham Fell Ms. Françoise Ko Mr. Ari Kopolovic Professor Michael Marrus Professor Arthur Ripstein Professor Barbara Sherwood Lollar Mr. Robert Weiss

Mr. Louis R. Charpentier

Secretariat:

Mr. Andrew Drummond

Regrets:

Mr. John F. (Jack) Petch Mr. Timothy Reid

In Attendance:

Dr. Robert Bennett, Chair, University Affairs Board

Mr. Bruce Cameron, member of the Presidential Search Committee

Professor W. Raymond Cummins, Chair, Academic Board

Professor Paul Gooch, member of the Presidential Search Committee

Ms. Linda Gardner, member of the Presidential Search Committee

Ms. Margaret Hancock, member of the Presidential Search Committee

Mr. Joseph Mapa, member of the Presidential Search Committee

Professor Cheryl Misak, member of the Presidential Search Committee

Ms. Jacqueline Orange, Chair, Business Board, and member of the Presidential Search Committee

Professor Peter St. George-Hyslop, member of the Presidential Search Committee

Mr. Mahadeo Sukhai, member of the Presidential Search Committee

Mr. W. David Wilson, member of the Presidential Search Committee

THE COMMITTEE MOVED IN CAMERA.

1. Appointment of the President

On motion duly moved and seconded,

YOUR COMMITTEE ENDORSED AND FORWARDED

to the Governing Council for consideration the recommendation

- (1) That Dean C. David Naylor be appointed the 15th President of the University of Toronto, effective October 1, 2005, for five years, and for up to an additional five years, subject to a review not later than the fall of 2009 by the Executive Committee of the Governing Council, and a subsequent determination by the Governing Council and by Professor Naylor that continuation of the term is mutually agreeable.
- (2) That the Senior Salary Committee by authorized to complete and finalize with Dean C. David Naylor the full terms and conditions of his contract.
- (3) That Professor Vivek Goel be appointed Acting President from July 1, 2005 to September 30, 2005.

On motion duly moved and seconded,

IT WAS RESOLVED

THAT pursuant to Section 38 of By-Law Number 2, the recommendation be considered by the Governing Council *in camera*, with members of the Presidential Search Committee invited to attend.

The meeting adjourned at 8:20 a.m.

Secretary	Chair	

May 9, 2005