UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO THE GOVERNING COUNCIL REPORT NUMBER 362 OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE Thursday, May 29, 2003

To the Governing Council, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a special meeting on Thursday, May 29, 2003 at 3:45 p.m. in the Boardroom, Simcoe Hall, with the following members present:

Dr. Thomas Simpson (In the Chair)	Regrets:
Professor Robert J. Birgeneau, President	5
Dr. Robert Bennett	Ms Susan Eng
Mr. Brian Davis	Dr. Joseph Rotman
Dr. Shari Graham Fell	-
Professor David Jenkins	Non-Voting Member:
Professor Brian Langille	C
Professor Ian McDonald	Mr. Louis R. Charpentier
Mr. David Melville	-
Mr. Sean Mullin	
Ms Rose Patten	
Mrs. Susan M. Scace	

In Attendance:

Professor W. Raymond Cummins, Chair, Academic Board and Member, the Governing Council Dr. John Nestor, Chair, University Affairs Board and Member, the Governing Council Professor Shirley Neuman, Vice-President and Provost and Member, the Governing Council Dr. Beata FitzPatrick, Assistant Vice-President and Director, Office of the President

On motion duly moved and seconded,

IT WAS RESOLVED

THAT, pursuant to section 28 (e) and 33 of *By-Law Number 2*, consideration of agenda item 1 take place *in camera*, with the Board Chairs, the Vice-Presidents, and Dr. FitzPatrick admitted to the meeting to facilitate the work of the Committee.

1. Senior Appointment

THAT the recommendation for a senior appointment contained in the memorandum from the President dated May 28, 2003 be endorsed and forwarded to the Governing Council for approval.

The meeting adjourned at 3:15 p.m.

June 16, 2003