UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

REPORT NUMBER 341 OF

THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

Thursday, October 25, 2001

To the Governing Council, University of Toronto.

Your Committee reports that it held a special meeting on Thursday, October 25, 2001 at 3:30 p.m. in the Board Room, Simcoe Hall, with the following members present:

Ms Wendy M. Cecil (In the Chair)

Professor Robert J. Birgeneau, President

Dr. Robert Bennett Mrs. Mary Anne V. Chambers

Drafagar Drian Langilla

Professor Brian Langille

Ms Karen Lewis

Mr. Gerald A. Lokash

Mrs. Susan M. Scace

Ms Heather Schramm

Mr. Thomas Simpson

Non-Voting Member:

Mr. Louis R. Charpentier

Secretariat:

Ms Susan Girard

Regrets:

Professor Brian Corman Professor W. Raymond Cummins Mr. Kashif Pirzada Dr. Joseph L. Rotman

In Attendance:

Professor Jack Carr, Chair, Academic Board Dr. John Nestor, Chair, University Affairs Board

Item 1 was considered in camera.

1. External Appointment

After discussion,

On motion duly moved and seconded,

YOUR COMMITTEE APPROVED

1. External Appointment (cont'd)

THAT the following be appointed members of the McLaughlin Committee, effective October 25, 2001:

Mr. J. Christopher Wansbrough, Chairman of the R. Samuel McLaughlin Foundation, for an initial term of two years;

Dr. William K. Lindsay, Trustee of the R. Samuel McLaughlin Foundation, for an initial term of one year;

Mr. Allan L. Beattie, Q.C., Trustee of the R. Samuel McLaughlin Foundation, for an initial term of two years;

President Emeritus George E. Connell, Trustee of the R. Samuel McLaughlin Foundation, for an initial term of three years;

President Emeritus J. Robert S. Prichard, for an initial term of three years;

Dr. Henry G. Friesen, Chairman, Genome Canada, for a initial term of three years; and

President Robert J. Birgeneau, who will serve on the Committee ex officio.

The meeting adjourned at 3:45 p.m.

Secretary	Chairman	
October 26, 2001		