Awards & Honours

Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering

Professor **Jean Zu**, chair of the Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, has won one of the 2011 CPAC Professional Achievement Awards organized by the Chinese Professionals Association of Canada and the Education Foundation of CPAC. The awards are designed to recognize and celebrate the achievements of professionals who immigrated to Canada and achieved outstanding status in their professions.

Professor **Molley Shoichet** of the Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering is the recipient of this year's Clemson Award for Contributions to the Literature, presented by the U.S.-based Society for Biomaterials. This award recognizes significant contributions to the literature on the science or technology of biomaterials. Shoichet holds the Canada Research Chair in Tissue Engineering, and her research currently focuses regenerative medicine, drug delivery and tissue engineering strategies to overcome diseases in the brain and after breast cancer.

Professor Emeritus **David F. James** has received the 2011 Annual Award from the British Society of Rheology for his contributions to the understanding of flow properties of viscoelastic fluids. The society was first founded as a British Rheologists' Club in 1940, with the objective of promoting science and disseminating knowledge in the areas of pure and applied rheology, a field which studies the flow of matter.

The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) has recently announced the election of IBBME core professor **Milos Popovic** to its College of Fellows. Popovic was nominated by his peers and was elected by the full membership into the official College of Fellows Class of 2012, based on his pioneering use of neuroprostheses for retraining brain functions in individuals following severe stroke and spinal cord injury.

Faculty of Arts and Science

Prof. **Ron Baecker** of computer science was honoured as a 2011 Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) Fellow. The 2011 fellows were named for leadership in the field and for helping to drive the innovations that will sustain competitiveness in the digital age. Baecker was named a fellow for his contributions to human-computer interaction and computer animation.