UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

COLLEGE OF ELECTORS

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Monday, February 23, 2015 at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall, at which the following were present:

Mr. R. Scott MacKendrick (UTAA – In the Chair)

Mr. Tye Farrow (Architecture – Vice-Chair)

Ms Jeannie An (Information)

Ms Fariba Anderson (Rotman)

Ms Mary Ellen Burns (St. Michael's College)

Ms Ann Clarke (UTSC)

Ms. Monifa M. Colthurst (University College)

Mr. David Drew (KPE)

Ms Tammy Fernandes (University College)

Mr. Stan Gasner (Engineering)

Ms Marian D. Hebb (Victoria College)

Mr. David T. Jaeger (Music) Ms Candice Jay (UTM)

Ms. Layan Kutob (Engineering)

Dr. Francesca La Marca (St. Michael's College)

Mr. Aly-Khan Madhavji (UTM)

Mr. Paul Malozewski (Engineering)

Dr. Ivan Owen McFarlane (Trinity College)

Regrets:

Mr. Mike Amos (UTM)

Professor David K. Bernhardt (Victoria College)

Mr. Rodney Hurd (UTSC)

Ms Christine Leduc (Forestry)

Mr. Jeff Anthony Myers (OISE)

Dr. Kirk Perris (OISE)

Secretariat: Mr. Patrick McNeill, Secretary

The College met *in camera* to consider item 5

1. Chair's Remarks

The Chair welcomed members to the meeting.

CONSENT AGENDA

The Chair noted that of the items listed on the Consent Agenda, one (Item 2) required approval and the others (as discussed and revised) were for information only.

Mr. Peter Murchison (Social Work)

Dr. Peeter Poldre (Medicine)

Dr. Lesley Pollard (Dentistry)

Ms Lesley Riedstra (New College)

Ms Lindsay K. Shaddy (OISE)

Ms Mary Shenstone (Trinity College)

Mr. Ho K Sung (University College)

Ms Joanne Thanos (Public Health)

Dr. Edward Gerald Thompson (OISE)

Ms Elizabeth Trotter (Woodsworth College)

Ms Joanne Uyede (Innis College)

Professor Emerita Judy Watt-Watson

(Nursing)

Ms Lucinda Williams (Woodsworth College)

Mr. David T. Windross (Pharmacy)

Mr. W. Grant Worden (Law)

Mr. Bing Young (Engineering)

Ms Ceta Ramkhalawansingh (New College)

Mr. Peter A. Rogers (St. Michael's College)

Ms Margaret Shaw (PT/OT)

Ms Valerie Story (Victoria College)

Mr. Kenny Yu (UTSC)

On motion, duly moved, seconded, and carried

It was Resolved

THAT the Consent Agenda be adopted and that the items be approved.

2. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – January 27, 2015

The minutes were approved.

3. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.

4. Date of the Next Meeting

The Chair said that the next meeting would be held on Monday, May 11, 2015, from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m. (rescheduled from previous date of May 5, 2015).

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried, the College moved in camera.

5. Election of Alumni Members

The Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG) reported to the College on the interviews of candidates that had been held and on the Committee's recommendations. Discussion of each candidate then took place and the NC-AG responded to questions posed by members.

The following alumni members of the Governing Council were elected.

Mr. Andrew Szende, re-elected for a second term from July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2018. B.A. (University College), 1967.

Mr. Bruce Winter elected for a term from July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2018. B.Com. (Trinity College), 1977.

The College members and Chair expressed thanks to the members of the Nominating Committee - Alumni Governors (NC-AG) for their work.

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried, the College returned to *open session*.

6. Nominations for the 2015-2016 Executive Committee of the College of Electors

Professor Emerita Judy Watt-Watson, a member of the NC-EC provided some background with respect to the process outlined in the Constitution. Continuing members were encouraged to consider applying to serve on the 2015-2016 Executive Committee. The application deadline was

Wednesday, April 15, 2015. The NC-EC would prepare a recommendation to the College for its next meeting.

7. Other Business

The Chair encouraged members to attend a Governing Council meeting or a Board/Committee meeting.

An invitation would be extended to the current 8 Alumni Governors and new Governor to attend the May 11, 2015 meeting of the College.

	The meeting adjourned at 6:20 p.m.	
Secretary	_	Chair

February 25, 2015