UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

COLLEGE OF ELECTORS

Minutes of the College of Electors meeting held on Tuesday, January 27, 2015 at 5:00 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall, at which the following were present:

Mr. R. Scott MacKendrick (UTAA – In the Chair) Mr. Tye Farrow (Architecture – Vice-Chair) Mr. Mike Amos (UTM) Ms Jeannie An (Information) Ms Fariba Anderson (Rotman) Professor David K. Bernhardt (Victoria College) Ms Mary Ellen Burns (St. Michael's College) Ms. Monifa M. Colthurst (University College) Ms Ann Clarke (UTSC) Mr. David Drew (KPE) Ms Tammy Fernandes (University College) Mr. Stan Gasner (Engineering) Ms Marian D. Hebb (Victoria College) Ms Candice Jay (UTM) Ms. Layan Kutob (Engineering) Ms Christine Leduc (Forestry) Mr. Aly-Khan Madhavji (UTM) Mr. Paul Malozewski (Engineering) Mr. Peter Murchison (Social Work)

Regrets:

Mr. David T. Jaeger (Music) Mr. Rodney Hurd (UTSC) Dr. Francesca La Marca (St. Michael's College) Dr. Ivan Owen McFarlane (Trinity College) Mr. Jeff Anthony Myers (OISE) Dr. Kirk Perris (OISE) Dr. Peeter Poldre (Medicine) Dr. Lesley Pollard (Dentistry) Ms Ceta Ramkhalawansingh (New College) Ms Lesley Riedstra (New College) Mr. Peter A. Rogers (St. Michael's College) Ms Lindsay K. Shaddy (OISE) Ms Mary Shenstone (Trinity College) Ms Valerie Story (Victoria College) Mr. Ho K Sung (University College) Ms Joanne Thanos (Public Health) Dr. Edward Gerald Thompson (OISE) Ms Joanne Uyede (Innis College) Professor Emerita Judy Watt-Watson (Nursing) Ms Lucinda Williams (Woodsworth College) Mr. Bing Young (Engineering) Mr. Kenny Yu (UTSC)

Ms Margaret Shaw (PT/OT) Ms Elizabeth Trotter (Woodsworth College) Mr. W. Grant Worden (Law) Mr. David T. Windross (Pharmacy)

Secretariat: Mr. Patrick McNeill, Secretary, College of Electors

The College met in camera to consider items 1, 6 and 7

The Chair called the meeting to order.

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried, the College moved in camera.

1. Report of the Chancellor Review Search Committee

The Report of the Chancellor Review/Search Committee was presented to the College.

Election of the Chancellor of the University of Toronto

The College held an election for the Chancellor by secret ballot. Once the ballots had been counted, the Chair announced that the Honourable Michael H. Wilson had been re-elected as Chancellor of the University of Toronto for a three-year term beginning July 1, 2015.

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried, the College returned to open session.

2. Chair's Remarks

The Chair welcomed members to the open session of the meeting and introduced Mr. David Drew, representing the Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education (KPE).

The Chair expressed thanks to the members of the Executive Committee for their work on the Chancellor Review/Search Committee. He stated that he had also extended thanks, on behalf of the College, to the President and the Chair of the Governing Council for their contributions and commitment to the 2015 Chancellor Review/Search process.

CONSENT AGENDA

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried,

The consent agenda was adopted and that the items on it were approved.

3. Minutes of the Previous Meeting – November 4, 2014

The minutes were approved.

4. Business Arising from the Minutes

There was no business arising from the minutes of the previous meeting.

5. Date of Next Meeting

The Chair noted that the next meeting of the College of Electors was scheduled to be held from 5 to 7 p.m. on Monday, February 23, 2015.

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried, the College moved in camera.

6. Review of Alumni Governor Applications

The Chair reported on the work of the Nominating Committee for Alumni Governors (NC-AG), which had met on January 15, 2015 to conduct an initial assessment of the alumni governor application forms that had been received.

The College then discussed the applicants and identified a list of candidates to be interviewed to attend an interview with the NC-AG.

7. Review of Interview Questions and Interview Procedures

The College reviewed the draft interview questions for 2015.

The Chair reported that following the meeting, each applicant would be informed by the Secretary, as to whether or not he/she had been invited to attend an interview with the NC-AG on Monday, February 2, 2015.

After the interviews had been completed, the Report of the NC-AG would be prepared including the Committee's recommendations; and would be forwarded to the College for the next meeting.

On motion duly moved, seconded, and carried, the College returned to open session.

8. Other Business

The Chair reminded members that the next meeting of the College was scheduled to be held on Monday, February 23, 2015 from 5:00 to 7:00 p.m.

The meeting adjourned at 7:15 p.m.

Secretary

Chair

February 4, 2015