

University of Toronto Toronto Ontario M5S 1A1

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

For Information

TO: Members of the Agenda Committee

FROM: Mae-Yu Tan, Assistant Secretary of the Governing Council

DATE: September 17, 2007

AGENDA ITEM: 3

SUBJECT: Report on Approvals Under Summer Executive Authority

Academic Administrative Appointments

At the May 25, 2007 meeting, the Committee approved the use of electronic ballot to approve academic administrative appointments until its first scheduled meeting in the Fall, 2007. It was determined that approval would require the response of a minimum of five members of the Committee, and that a forty-eight hour response period for an electronic ballot was appropriate.

The following academic administrative appointments were approved under the Agenda Committee's summer executive authority:

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Prof. Suzanne Stevenson Vice-Dean Students

July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2010

Centre for Medieval Studies

Prof. Lawrin Armstrong Acting Director

July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2008

Prof. John Magee Director

July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013

Cinema Studies Institute

Professor Charles Keil Director

July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2013

Department of Art

Prof. Mark A. Cheetham Interim Chair and Graduate Chair

July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2008

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE (cont'd)

Department of Mathematics

Prof. Kumar Murty Chair and Graduate Chair

July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2011

Prof. Jeremy Quastel Acting Chair and Acting Graduate Chair

July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2008

Department of Statistics

Prof. Keith Knight Chair and Graduate Chair

July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2008 (Extension)

Prof. James Stafford Chair and Graduate Chair

July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013

Department of Spanish and Portuguese

Prof. Ricardo Sternberg Acting Chair and Acting Graduate Chair

July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2008

FACULTY OF DENTISTRY

Dr. Grace Bradley Interim Associate Dean, Biological and Diagnostic Sciences

September 1, 2007 until August 31, 2008, or until a permanent appointment is made.

FACULTY OF LAW

Prof. Anita Anand Associate Dean, J.D. Program

August 13, 2007 to June 30, 2009

Prof. Sujit Choudhry Associate Dean, First Year Program

January 1, 2008 to December 31, 2010

Prof. Catherine Valcke Interim Associate Dean, First Year Program

August 15, 2007 to December 31, 2007

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Prof. John Bohnen Vice-Dean, Clinical Affairs

September 1, 2007 to June 30, 2012

Prof. Peter Lewis Vice-Dean, Research and International Relations

July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2012 (Re-appointment)

Prof. David McKnight Associate Dean, Equity and Professionalism

July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2012

FACULTY OF MEDICINE (cont'd)

Department of Biochemistry

Prof. Reinhart Reithmeier Chair and Graduate Chair

July 1, 2007 to December 31, 2007 or until the position

is filled (Extension)

Department of Family and Community Medicine

Prof. Lynn Wilson Chair and Graduate Chair

September 1, 2007 to December 31, 2012

Department of Health Policy, Management and Evaluation

Prof. Louise Lemieux-Charles Chair and Graduate Chair

July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2012 (Re-appointment)

Department of Medical Imaging

Prof. Patrice Bret Chair

July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2012

Department of Otolaryngology

Prof. Patrick Gullane Chair

July 1, 2007 to December 31, 2007 or until the position

is filled (Extension)

Department of Public Health Sciences

Prof. Michael Escobar Interim Chair and Graduate Chair

July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2008 or until the position is filled

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO AT MISSISSAUGA

Department of Historical Studies

Prof. Robert Johnson Chair

July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2010

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO AT SCARBOROUGH

Prof. John Scherk Interim Vice-Dean

July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2008

Department of Biological Sciences

Prof. Greg Vanlerberghe Interim Chair

July 1, 2007 to June 30, 2008