

University of Toronto Toronto Ontario M5S 1A1

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

TO: Executive Committee

SPONSOR: Louis Charpentier, Secretary of the Governing Council

CONTACT INFO: 416-978-2118 l.charpentier@utoronto.ca

DATE: October 7, 2005 for October 14, 2005

AGENDA ITEM: 9 (a)

ITEM IDENTIFICATION:

Report on Approvals under Summer Executive Authority

JURISDICTIONAL INFORMATION:

At its meeting of June 29, 2005, the Governing Council approved the annual delegation of authority to permit the President to act on behalf of the Council during the summer months. Council delegated authority for appointments, curriculum changes and "decisions on other matters the urgency of which does not permit their deferral until the next regular meeting of the Governing Council or its appropriate board or committee." The resolution specified that all actions taken under this authority be approved prior to implementation by the Chair of the Governing Council and reported to the appropriate board or committee for information.

PREVIOUS ACTION TAKEN:

The Executive Committee receives an annual report on approvals made under Summer Executive Authority.

HIGHLIGHTS:

The following resolutions were approved under summer executive authority.

Please call Henry Mulhall at 416-978-8428 should you wish supporting documentation on any of the following items.

- (a) Approvals within the terms of reference of the Executive Committee
- (i) External Appointments: Members and Directors, University of Toronto Press

THAT Ms Dominique Barker be appointed a member and director of the University of Toronto Press for 2005-06, or until her successor is appointed.

THAT the following individuals be re-appointed members and directors of the University of Toronto Press for 2005-06, or until their successors are appointed:

(a) Approvals within the terms of reference of the Executive Committee (cont'd.)

Mr Roger Parkinson Mr Frank Anderson Ms Catherine Riggall Ms Kathryn Bennett **Professor Brian Cantwell Smith** Mr Andrew Ritchie Professor Martin Friedland Mr Jim Robinson Mr Robert J. Steacy Ms Carole Moore Mr John Yates **Professor Heather Murray**

(ii) External Appointments: Board of Trustees of the University Health Network

THAT Professor Catharine Whiteside, Interim Dean, Faculty of Medicine, be appointed to the Board of the University Health Network, for a term, from September 1, 2005 to June 30, 2006, or until a new Dean is appointed, whichever comes first, and until a successor is appointed,

and,

THAT Professor Wayne Hindmarsh, Dean, Faculty of Pharmacy, be appointed to the Board of the University Health Network, for a one-year term, from September 1, 2005 to August 31, 2006, and until his successor is appointed.

(iii) External Appointments: Board of Governors of the West Park Healthcare Centre

THAT Professor Luc De Nil be proposed to the Nominating Committee of the Board of the West Park Healthcare Centre for appointment to the Board for a one-year term with retroactive effect from June 23, 2005, with his appointment to continue until the 2006 Annual Meeting, and until a successor is appointed.

(iv) External Appointments: Board of Directors of the Women's College Hospital Corporation

THAT Professor Edith Hillan, Vice-Provost Academic, be appointed to the Board of Directors of the Women's College Hospital Corporation for a three-year term, from September 1, 2005 to August 31, 2008, or until her successor is appointed.

FINANCIAL AND/OR PLANNING IMPLICATIONS:

n/a

RECOMMENDATION:

This report is for the Committee's information. No action is required.