Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering

Professor **Frank Kschischang**, The Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering, has been named Distinguished Professor in Digital Communications. The Distinguished Professor Awards are designed to advance and recognize individuals with highly distinguished accomplishments, who maintain an extraordinary level of activity in their research and scholarly work and have achieved pre-eminence in their fields. Kschischang has made seminal contributions in the area of error-correcting techniques, and his methods have been applied in wired and wireless systems, as well as optical networks.

Professor **Paul Santerre**, Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering, has received the \$100,000 Principal Award of the Ernest C. Manning Innovation Awards. The awards recognize Canadian innovators who have successfully created and marketed new concepts, processes or procedures. Santerre was honoured for creating and commercializing Surface Modifying Macromolecules (trade name Endexo™) which are added to medical devices to prevent blood clots.

Professor **Michael Sefton**, Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry and the Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, has been inducted as a Foreign Associate into the Institute of Medicine of the National Academies in the United States. Sefton is a global leader and a pioneer in tissue engineering and regenerative medicine. His research tackles a question central to the field: how can scientists construct or grow blood vessels that will keep engineered tissues vital and alive?

Faculty of Medicine

Dean Emeritus **Arnold Aberman** will receive an honorary Doctor of Philosophy from the University of Haifa in recognition of his lifetime contribution to Canadian medicine and his support of Israel. Dr. Aberman was dean of the Faculty of Medicine from 1992 to 1999. As a co-director of the Intensive Care Unit at Mount Sinai Hospital, Dean Aberman was instrumental in securing recognition for the field of critical care medicine as an independent discipline in Canada. He also played a major role in the creation of the Northern Ontario School of Medicine.

Professor **Pamela Catton**, radiation oncology, has won the American Association for Cancer Education's 2014 Margaret Hay Edwards Achievement Medal. The award honours outstanding contributions to cancer education. Catton is director of oncology education in the Princess Margaret Cancer Program. She is interested in health education for patients, providers and learners.

Professor **Mary Gospodarowicz**, radiation oncology, has won the American Society of Therapeutic Radiation Oncology's Gold Medal. She was recognized for her outstanding contributions to the field of radiation oncology. Gospodarowicz is medical director of the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre. She is also the first female and Canadian to lead the Union for International Cancer Control, the largest cancer fighting organization of its kind. Her research interests include clinical trials evaluating radiation therapy in cancer treatment, image-guided precision radiotherapy and survivorship.

Faculty of Medicine

Professor **Kullervo Hynynen**, medical biophysics, Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering, received the 2014 Rayleigh Award from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Ultrasonics, Ferroelectrics and Frequency Control (IEEE UFFC) Society, for his work on ultrasonics. He was recognized for his technical innovations, research, published work and teaching. Hynynen helped pioneer MRI-guided focused ultrasound for the treatment of cancerous brain tumours and other neurological conditions.

Hypertension Canada has awarded Professor **Alexander Logan**, a 2014 senior investigator award for his research on hypertension. As a principal investigator at the Samuel Lunenfeld Research Institute and professor in the department of medicine, Dr. Logan has published numerous studies including one that showed how a person's diet can be assessed through analyzing potassium levels in urine.

University Professor **Michael Sefton,** Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering, was named a member of the Institute of Medicine (IOM) of the National Academies. Election to the IOM is one of the highest honors in health and medicine. IOM members are recognized for their outstanding professional achievement and service. Professor Sefton is an international leader in biomedical engineering, biomaterials and regenerative medicine.

University of Toronto Scarborough and Faculty of Arts & Science

Two University of Toronto researchers, **Andrea Charise** and **Rahul Deb**, have won esteemed Polanyi Prizes – Charise for her literary research and Deb for his work in economics. Charise is an assistant professor of health studies at U of T Scarborough. Her research focuses on how today's generational identity and intergenerational conflict were represented much earlier in literature. Deb is an assistant professor in the department of economics. He developed a theory that is used to determine whether firms involved in competitive bids for business are genuinely competing, or whether they are secretly colluding.

The Polanyi Prizes were created to celebrate U of T chemistry professor John Polanyi's 1986 Nobel Prize. The areas of research they recognize mirror those of the Nobel Prizes. Winners – post-doctoral researchers in the early stages of their careers – are awarded \$20,000 by the Ontario government.