

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

TO:	Executive Committee	
SPONSOR:	Louis Charpentier, Secretary of the Governing Council	
CONTACT INFO:	416-978-2118	l.charpentier@utoronto.ca
DATE:	August 26, 2003 for meeting of September 5, 2003	
AGENDA ITEM:	11	

ITEM IDENTIFICATION:

Report on Namings

JURISDICTIONAL INFORMATION:

The University's Policy on Naming stipulates that, among other things, approval is required for the naming of buildings or substantial parts of buildings, endowed programs of research, endowed chairs and professorships. Revisions to the Policy delegated approval of such namings to a Committee composed of the Chair and Vice-Chair of Governing Council and the President, with the Chair retaining the responsibility for referring any contentious matters to the Executive Committee. Names approved by the above Committee are to be reported to the Executive Committee for information.

PREVIOUS ACTION TAKEN:

The Executive Committee received Report Number 7 on Namings for information in September 2002.

HIGHLIGHTS:

n/a

FINANCIAL AND/OR PLANNING IMPLICATIONS:

n/a

RECOMMENDATION:

This report is for the Committee's information. No action is required.

Approved by the Committee on Namings September 2002 to August, 2003

(in alphabetical order)

Associates of the University of Toronto Director of the Centre for the Study of the U.S.

Martin Barkin Chair in Urological Research

Brazilian Ball Chair in Cardiology at St. Michael's Hospital

M. Qasim Choksi Chair in Vision Research at the Hospital for Sick Children.

Corus Entertainment Chair in Communications Strategy at the Joseph L. Rotman School of Management

Dr. Earl Glenwood Coulson Chair in Interventional Radiology at the HSC Mira Godard Chair in Vision Research at the Hospital for Sick Children

F. Marguerite Hill Chair in Academic Women's Medicine at Sunnybrook and Women's C. H. Sciences Centre

Charles H. Hollenberg Chair in Medicine

Jackman Professorship in the Arts and the Jackman Program for the Arts in Faculty of Arts and Science

Michael and Sonja Koerner Distinguished Visitor in Compostion in the Faculty of Music

Murray B. Koffler Chair in Pharmacy Management

Harold and Shirley Lederman Chair in Palliative Care, Psychosocial Oncology at Princess M. Hosp.

Morrison Hall

National Bank Financial Professorship in Capital Markets

Philip S. Orsino Chair in Leukemia Research at Princess Margaret Hospital

Robert and Dorothy Pitts Chair in Acute Care and Emergency Medicine at St. Michael's Hospital

E.J. Pratt Professor in Canadian Literature in the Dept. of English

Sandra Rotman Chair In Health Sector Strategy - renaming

Smith & Nephew Chair in Orthopaedic Surgery Research at the U of T and UHN

Anne Tanenbaum Chair in Development and Molecular Biology at Mount Sinai Hospital Tyco Chair in Minimally Invasive Surgery at UHN

John H. Watson Chair in Value Investing

John and Mary A. Yaremko Programme in Multiculturalism and Human Rights

Approved by the President September 2002 to August, 2003

Altima Dental Centres Student Services Area John Bousfield Distinguished Visitor in Planning George Danyliw Lecture William Doo Auditorium PCL Seminar Room E. Mark Perri Memorial Garden RioCan Real Estate Investment Trust Professorship in Real Estate and Urban Economics State Farm Companies Foundation Classroom Alex and Nancy Williams Lecture Room