AWARDS & HONOURS JUNE – SEPTEMBER 2013

Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering

Professor **David Sinton**, Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, has been elected a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). Fellowship is the highest elected grade of membership within ASME, the attainment of which recognizes outstanding engineering achievements and contributions to the engineering profession. Sinton is currently the Director of the Institute for Sustainable Energy. He became a Fellow of the Canadian Society of Mechanical Engineering in 2012 and was recently named the McLean Senior Fellow.

Professors **Cristina Amon** and **Javad Mostaghimi**, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, have been awarded the 75th Anniversary Medal of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers Heat Transfer Division. The medal recognizes engineers who have made outstanding contributions to the heat-transfer community. The U of T engineers were among only three recipients from Canada. Amon and Mostaghimi were previously honoured with the ASME Heat Transfer Memorial Award in 2009 and 2012, respectively. Amon is also the dean of the Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering and alumni chair in Bioengineering.

Two U of T professors have been recognized by The Professional Engineers of Ontario (PEO) for outstanding contributions to their profession and their community. Professor **Michael Sefton**, Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry, Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, is this year's recipient of the Gold Medal, Ontario's most prestigious engineering honour, and Professor **Stavros Argyropoulos**, Department of Materials Science & Engineering, has been awarded a Research and Development Medal. Recipients will be honoured at a gala at the Toronto Congress Centre on November 23, 2013.

Professor **Doug Hooton**, Department of Civil Engineering, has received two prestigious awards from two different technical societies. Hooton received the Robert E. Philleo Award, given by the American Concrete Institute's Concrete Research Council for outstanding research in the concrete materials field, or for outstanding contributions to the advancement of concrete technology through application of the results of concrete materials research, and the Frank E. Richart Award, given by the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) for meritorious contributions to ASTM in research and standardization with concrete and concrete aggregates.

Professor **Goldie Nejat**, Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, has been named the 2013 recipient of the Engineers Canada Young Engineer Achievement Award. The award recognizes outstanding contributions in a field of engineering by an engineer 35 years of age or younger. Nejat was honoured at the Engineers Canada Awards Gala on June 8 in Yellowknife.

Six Engineering professors were inducted into the Canadian Academy of Engineering (CAE) on June 20, during the CAE's Annual Meeting in Montreal. Professors **Yu-Ling Cheng**, Chemical, **Doug Hooton**, Civil, **Andrew Jardine**, Mechanical & Industrial, **Mark Kortschot**, Chemical, **Alberto Leon-Garcia** and **Andreas Mandelis**, Mechanical & Industrial, were among the 47 new Fellows elected by the CAE. The CAE comprises the country's most accomplished engineers, who have demonstrated their dedication to the application of science and engineering principles in the interests of Canada and its enterprises.

Faculty of Medicine

Professor **Avrum Gotlieb**, Department of Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology, received the Canadian Association of Pathologists (CAP) President's Award-2013 at the Annual Meeting in Quebec City. The award, established in 2007, is given for sustained service of an exceptional order to further the success and goals of the CAP. Gotlieb was recognized for initiating a successful innovative scientific program at the annual CAP meeting as Chair of the Annual Meeting (2009-2013), and for his work to strengthen the academic, educational and scientific ties between CAP and the Canadian Chairs of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine.

U of T Scarborough

The 2013 recipient of the Merriam Award is Professor **Rudy Boonstra**, Department of Biological Science, U of T Scarborough. The C. Hart Merriam Award is given to eminent scholars in recognition of outstanding research in mammalogy over a period of at least 10 years. Boonstra has long been a leader in the area of mammalian ecology and physiology. He applies techniques and perspectives from animal behavior, physiology, neurobiology, endocrinology and ecology to address fundamental issues about the interactions of animals with their environment, in particular the role of stress on mammal populations and communities.

UTSC professor one of Microsoft's 'Magnificent Seven' - Ruslan Salakhutdinov has been named a Microsoft Research Faculty Fellow, an honour reserved for fewer than 60 promising computer science researchers since the program launched eight years ago.

Salakhutdinov, an assistant professor of statistics in the University of Toronto Scarborough's Department of Computer and Mathematical Sciences, focuses on machine learning—one of the most exciting, high-impact areas of computer science. He is building techniques that allow computers to make sense of vast amounts of data.

Konrad Eisenbichler is the first Canadian to win Italy's International Flaiano Prize for scholarship — and only the second Canadian to win any Flaiano Prize, following in the footsteps of Alice Munro, who won for narrative prose in 2008. Eisenbichler – of the Department of Italian Studies and Victoria College's Renaissance Studies program – won the prize for his book *The Sword and the Pen: Women, Poetry and Politics in Sixteenth-Century Siena*

The University of Toronto's renowned social historian **Natalie Zemon Davis**, of the Department of History, has been honoured with a 2012 National Humanities Medal. The award — presented to this year's 12 recipients by President Barack Obama on July 10 — honours individuals or groups whose work has deepened the United States' understanding of the humanities, broadened its citizens' engagement with the humanities, or helped preserve and expand Americans' access to important resources in the humanities.

Hundreds of students to benefit from \$6.6 million in training funds

Hundreds of U of T students and postdoctoral fellows will benefit from \$6.6 million in funding from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Council's CREATE program, which trains the next generation of researchers to tackle Canada's most pressing scientific challenges.

This year, U of T is the only institution to receive more than one award, and its winning projects represent 26.9 per cent of the total funding awarded.

Professors Molly Shoichet, Murray Thomson, Kenneth Burch and Aled Edwards lead students working on the CREATE-winning projects