AWARDS & HONOURS NOVEMBER 27, 2013 – FEBRUARY 26, 2014

Faculty of Arts & Science

Christina E. Kramer, Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures, received an honourable mention from The Modern Language Association of America in the competition for the Lois Roth Award for a Translation of a Literary Work for her translation of *Freud's Sister*, by Goce Smilevski, published by Penguin.

Martin Krkosek, an assistant professor in the Department of Ecology & Evolutionary Biology, was awarded a 2014 Sloan Research Fellowship. The Sloan fellowships are given to early-career scientists and scholars whose achievements and potential identify them as rising stars, the next generation of scientific leaders. As a Sloan Research Fellow, his lab will study how infectious diseases may be a major emerging factor that can constrain the productivity and conservation of ocean ecosystems and resources – a consequence of humanity transitioning from hunting to farming coastal seas.

David Novak, Department for the Study of Religion, has been invited to give the 2017 Gifford Lectures at the University Aberdeen. Dating from 1885, the lectureship has featured lecturers such as William James, Andrew North Whitehead, John Dewey, Ninian Smart, Rudolf Bultmann, Josiah Royce, Michael Polanyi, Richard Swinburne, Ian Barbour, Hannah Arendt, and many other stellar scholars.

Keren Rice, Department of Linguistics, has been appointed as an Officer of the Order of Canada in recognition of her scholarship and work in Canada's North which has helped to preserve Athapaskan languages.

Barbara Sherwood Lollar, Department of Earth Sciences, was named one of Maclean's Magazine Stories to Watch in 2014 and one of the Top Ten Stories of the Year by Geochemical News, Discovery and Fox News.

Shafique Virani, Historical Studies, has won the 2014 Excellence Award in Teaching from the American Academy of Religion for mentorship which provides opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students to join him in cutting-edge research projects.

Professor Emeritus **Michael Bliss** was promoted within the Order of Canada to Officer. Bliss was recognized for his contributions as a historian and author dedicated to illuminating Canada's history.

The University of Toronto's **Citizen Lab** is one of seven nonprofit organizations around the world to receive the 2014 MacArthur Award for Creative and Effective Institutions (MACEI). The Award, announced February 20, recognizes exceptional nonprofit organizations who have demonstrated creativity and impact, and invests in their long-term sustainability with sizable one-time grants.

Meric Gertler, President of the University of Toronto, was awarded the 2014 Distinguished Scholarship Honor for outstanding contributions to the advancement of geography from The Association of American Geographers (AAG).

Faculty of Medicine

David Jenkins, Department of Nutritional Sciences, has been appointed by Governor General David Johnston to the Order of Canada. The award celebrates the extraordinary accomplishments of alumni, faculty, and honorary graduates with backgrounds ranging from medical innovation to musical prowess, philanthropy, politics and beyond. Dr. Jenkins has ensured Canadians are able to make better informed food choices.

Eliot Phillipson and Ian Tannock from the Department of Medicine, have been appointed by Governor General David Johnston to the Order of Canada. The awards celebrate the extraordinary accomplishments of alumni, faculty, and honorary graduates with backgrounds ranging from medical innovation to musical prowess, philanthropy, politics and beyond. Dr. Phillipson has advanced research in many fields and Dr. Tannock has advanced cancer treatments.

Charles Boone, Banting and Best Department of Medical Research, was awarded the 2014 Edward Novitski Prize from The Genetics Society of America. The prestigious award, named after a pioneering American geneticist, recognizes exceptional ingenuity in genetics research. Boone and his colleagues invented a method to discover and map gene interactions among the thousands of genes that make up an organism's genome.

R.S. McLaughlin Professor and Chair of the Department of Surgery at U of T, **Dr. James Rutka**, was named to the Order of Ontario by Lieutenant Governor, the

Honourable David C. Onley. Rutka is widely recognized as one of North America's top

brain cancer researchers and has made significant contributions to the development of

better treatments for children with malignant brain tumors. The Order of Ontario was

established in 1986 to recognize individual excellence and achievement in any field; the

nominations are made by members of the public.

Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering

Former Provost and Chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering, **Adel Sedra** was named to the Order of Ontario by Lieutenant Governor, the Honourable David C. Onley. Sedra was recognized for his career as a distinguished engineering scholar and professor as well as a leader in university administration. The Order of Ontario was established in 1986 to recognize individual excellence and achievement in any field; the nominations are made by members of the public.

Milica Radisic, Department of Chemical Engineering and Applied Chemistry and the Institute for Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering, was awarded the Steacie Fellowship from the Natural Sciences and Engineering Council of Canada (NSERC). The fellowship enhances the career development of outstanding and highly promising university faculty who are earning a strong international reputation for original research. Radisic creates healthy and diseased human heart tissue to use as models for drug discovery and testing and hopes to see stem cells replace heart cells.