Awards & Honours June 2012 – August 2012

Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering

Professors **Grant Allen** of the Department of Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry, **Michael Carter** of the Department of Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, **Ömer Gülder** of the Institute for Aerospace Studies, **David Johns** of the Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, **Jeffrey Packer** and **Shamim Sheikh** of the Department of Civil Engineering and **Molly Shoichet** of the Department of Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry and the Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering, were inducted in to the Canadian Academy of Engineering on June 21. The Academy comprises the country's most accomplished engineers, who have demonstrated their dedication to the application of science and engineering principles in the interests of Canada and its enterprises.

The Massachusetts Institute of Technology's magazine, *Technology Review*, has named Assistant Professor **Joyce Poon**, Electrical & Computing Engineering, one of the world's top 35 innovators under the age of 35. The TR35 recognizes young researchers who are tackling important problems in transformative ways and opening up new possibilities in technology.

Faculty of Arts & Science

Professor Emeritus, **Larry S. Bourne**, Geography & Planning, has been awarded the International Geographical Union's Lauréat d'honneur for his many contributions to urban geography, and the IGU.

Professor **William Cunningham**, Psychology, has received the Young Investigators Award (Basic Science) from the International Union of Psychological Science for achievement and significant contribution to humanity. Cunningham's research focuses mainly on how the mind reflects value.

Faculty of Arts & Science

Professor Emeritus **Natalie Zemon Davis**, Department of History, was appointed a Companion of the Order of Canada on June 29, 2012.

Professor **Sajeev John**, Department of Physics, received the 2013 IEEE David Sarnoff Award, which recognizes exceptional contributions to electronics: "For the conception and development of light-trapping crystals and for leadership in elucidating their properties and applications in photonics."

Professor **Aaron Wheeler**, Chemistry, has been awarded the 2012 Heinrich Emanuel Merck Award for Analytical Science for his development of a digital microfluidic method for the extraction and quantification of estrogen in 1-microliter samples of breast tissue homogenate, whole blood and serum. This new technology – often called "lab on a chip" – tests tiny samples of blood and breast tissue much more efficiently than conventional methods and could be used by physicians to monitor the effectiveness of anti-breast cancer treatments in ways that are not possible now. This award recognizes scientists under the age of 45 whose work focuses on new methods in chemical analysis and the development of applications aimed at improving the quality of human life.

Faculty of Medicine

Dr. Izzeldin Abuelaish (Dalla Lana School of Public Health) is the recipient of the 2012 P & V Foundation Citizenship Award. This Award is presented to an individual or organization who strives tirelessly towards building a better, more inclusive, global society. Abuelaish was selected for his work and dedication to improving the quality of life for all people through respect and communication and for the founding of the Daughters for Life Foundation which provides scholarships for young women. The Citizenship Award will be presented in November 2012 in Brussels.

Faculty of Medicine

On June 29, 2012, the Order of Canada recognized two Faculty of Medicine members:

Professor **Prabhat Jha** (Dalla Lana School of Public Health) became an Officer of the Order of Canada for his contributions to epidemiology and the economics of global health, which have influenced the development of global health policy and Professor **Marian Packham** (Department of Biochemistry) became a Member of the Order of Canada for her pioneering research in biological medical science, notably her contributions to critical

breakthroughs in arterial health. The Order of Canada recognizes individuals for their outstanding achievements and their dedication to their communities.

Munk School of Global Affairs

Professor **Janice Gross Stein** received an Honorary Doctorate by the Hebrew University of Jerusalem at a ceremony held in Jerusalem on June 10. As a scholar specializing in conflict resolution, Janice Gross Stein has forged strong ties between the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and the University of Toronto. Her work has directly contributed to Canadians' understanding of politics and life in the Middle East.

Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing

The Canadian Nurses Association honoured Professor **Ellen Hodnett** with its Order of Merit Award in Nursing Research. The award acknowledges Hodnett's significant and sustained impact on the nursing profession and the practice of nursing in Canada. Hodnett's research program focuses on rigorous evaluations of forms of care for childbearing women. It also examines how the physical setting for labour affects the behaviour of women and their care providers, as well as birth outcomes.