AWARDS & HONOURS APRIL – MAY 2013

Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering

Professors **Warren Chan**, Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering, and **Yu Sun**, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, have received E.W.R. Steacie Memorial Fellowships, awarded to enhance the career development of outstanding and highly promising scientists and engineers who are faculty members of Canadian universities.

Professors **Paul Chow**, Electrical & Computer Engineering, **Andrew Goldenberg**, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, **Chul Park**, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, **Shamim Sheikh**, Civil Engineering, and **Yu Sun**, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, have been recognized by the Engineering Institute of Canada (EIC) for their outstanding engineering achievements. Andrew Goldenberg received the Sir John Kennedy Medal, the EIC's highest honour. Chul Park was awarded the K.Y.

Professor **Greg Evans**, Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry, is this year's recipient of the Northrop Frye Award, one of U of T's Awards of Excellence. The Northrop Frye Award recognizes those who have gone above and beyond the University's standard of excellence, setting themselves apart through innovation in teaching and their commitment to conveying the excitement and importance of research to undergraduate and graduate students.

Professor **Brenda McCabe**, Chair of the Department of Civil Engineering, has been selected to receive the 2013 SWAAC Recognition Award from the Senior Women Academic Administrators of Canada. This award is given to a SWAAC member who has continually demonstrated innovative leadership in advancing the mission of, and achieving outstanding contributions to, her institution.

Professors **Alexander McLean**, Materials Science & Engineering, **Milica Radisic**, Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering, Chemical Engineering & Applied Chemistry, and Vice-President, Research R. **Paul Young**, Civil Engineering, received Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medals in February, in recognition of their achievements and contributions to Canada.

Professor **Javad Mostaghimi**, Mechanical & Industrial Engineering, has been awarded the Robert W. Angus Medal by the Canadian Society for Mechanical Engineering (CSME), for outstanding contributions to the management and practice of mechanical engineering. Professor Mostaghimi is the University of Toronto Distinguished Professor in Plasma Engineering and founding Director of the Centre for Advanced Coating Technologies (CACT).

Professor **Paul Santerre**, Director of the Institute of Biomaterials & Biomedical Engineering, was awarded a NSERC Synergy Award for Innovation, which honours outstanding achievements in university-industry collaborations. His partnership with Interface Biologics is producing transformative biomedical polymers to make medical devices safer and more effective.

Faculty of Medicine

The following faculty members have won a 2013 Undergraduate Teaching in Life Sciences Award: Professor **Barbara Ballyk**, Surgery, Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching in Life Sciences; Professor **Carin Wittnich**, Physiology, Excellence in Undergraduate Laboratory Teaching in Life Sciences; Professor **Richard Horner**, Physiology, Excellence in Linking Undergraduate Teaching to Research in Life Sciences.

Professor **Michael Fehlings**, Surgery, has won the 2013 Winn Award by the Society of Neurological Surgeons, for his work in the field of spinal cord injury and repair. The award is the highest honour for academic neurosurgeons in North America based on research and academic productivity.

Professor **Avrum Gotlieb**, interim vice-dean, Graduate & Life Sciences Education, has been honoured with the Association of Pathology Chairs' Distinguished Service Award for his influence as a leader and mentor in the field of cardiovascular pathology and his commitment to medical education at the undergraduate, graduate and postgraduate levels.

Professors **Carol-Anne Moulton**, Department of Surgery, and **George Porfiris**, Department of Family & Community Medicine have been awarded a PAIRO Excellence in Clinical Teaching Award by the Professional Association of Internes and Residents of Ontario. The award enables residents to honour clinical teachers who have excelled in their role.

Professor **Gary Sibbald**, Dalla Lana School of Public Health, has won a Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal for his work in the field of wound care. He is director of the Wound Healing Clinic at Women's College Hospital.

Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing

Professor **Linda McGillis Hall**, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing, is the recipient of Bloomberg Nursing's inaugural Kathleen Russell Distinguished Professor Award. McGillis Hall will continue to build academic, healthcare, policy, and stakeholder partnerships and extend the Faculty's collaborative partnerships with international nursing health systems researchers.

U of T's YWCA Women of Distinction 2013

University of Toronto faculty members and alumnae are receiving Toronto YWCA Women of Distinction Awards for their outstanding work and "bold vision in significantly improving the lives of women and girls at home and abroad". Faculty members: Professor **Mayo Moran**, Dean of the Faculty of Law; Dr. **Ophira Ginsburg**, Faculty of Medicine and the Dalla Lana School of Public Health. Alumnae: Justice **Gloria Epstein** (LLB 1977) of the Court of Appeal of Ontario; Woodsworth College alumna **Amanda Dale**, executive director of the Barbra Schlifer Commemorative Clinic.