

PLANNING & BUDGET OFFICE

TO:	Planning and Budget Committee	
SPONSOR:	Sally Garner	
CONTACT INFO:	416-978-2819, sally.garner@utoronto.ca	
DATE:	May 4, 2012 for May 16, 2012	
AGENDA ITEM:	4	

ITEM IDENTIFICATION:

Proposal to disestablish the existing Department of Social Sciences at the University of Toronto Scarborough and create four new Departments and an Extra-Departmental Unit B [EDU:B]

JURISDICTIONAL INFORMATION:

The Planning and Budget Committee is responsible for making recommendations to the Academic Board on plans and proposals to establish, disestablish, or significantly restructure academic units, here defined as "faculties, schools, colleges, departments, centres and institutes with teaching, or teaching and research functions, undergraduate degree programs, and graduate degree programs," regardless of the source of funds. (*P&B Terms of Reference, Section 4.4.1*)

PREVIOUS ACTION TAKEN:

HIGHLIGHTS:

This is a proposal for the restructuring of the existing omnibus Department of Social Sciences at the University of Toronto Scarborough. This restructuring will see the creation of four discrete disciplinary departments including the Departments of Anthropology, Human Geography, Political Science, and Sociology and an EDU:B, the Centre for Critical Development Studies in place of the current Department of Social Science effective July 1, 2012.

Originally, all academic programs at UTSC were organized in three large Divisions – Sciences, Social Sciences, and Humanities. Over time, as the proposal describes, these omnibus units have gradually given birth to smaller units and discipline-based departments. The decision of teaching staff in the Department of Social Sciences to follow this path has been the result of extensive consultation prompted initially by the campus' academic planning exercise. The proposed structural change is seen as an opportunity for each of the disciplines and its programs to develop a stronger identity; promote group cohesion within each discipline to the benefit of research collaboration and student experience; encourage curricular innovation through the creation of smaller more agile units; and bring UTSC into line with norms at other universities.

The reorganization of the original department will not affect the curriculum or existing programs which will be administered by the most appropriate unit as follows. The Department of Social Science does not currently offer any graduate programs.:

Proposed Unit	Existing programs
Dept. of Anthropology	 Specialist, Major, and Minor programs in Anthropology Major (Co-op), Major, and Minor programs in Health Studies
Dept. of Human Geography	 Major, and Minor programs in Human Geography Major program in Physical and Human Geography Major (Co-op) and Major programs in City Studies Major, and Minor programs in Diaspora and Transnational Studies (tri campus)
Dept. of Political Science	 Specialist, Major, and Minor programs in Political Science Major (Co-op) and Major programs in Public Policy
Dept. of Sociology	• Specialist, Major and Minor programs in Sociology
Centre for Critical Development Studies (EDU:B)	• Specialist (Co-op), Specialist, and Major programs in International Development Studies

The Dean's Office at UTSC has worked closely with the teaching staff associated with each of the proposed new units to develop an academic plan and vision for the future all of which is provided as part of the proposal. According to the *Guidelines for Administrative Functions and Protocols of Extra-Departmental Units (EDU)* (February 2007) an EDU:B has a defined area of scholarship as a focus and also admits students to interdisciplinary programs and engages in interdisciplinary research.

This proposal has been the subject of extensive discussion with teaching staff and students. A plan for ensuring that once approved these changes are communicated clearly to all students is provided in the proposal.

This proposal was approved by the UTSC Council on April 24, 2012.

FINANCIAL AND/OR PLANNING IMPLICATIONS:

The new units propose an administrative model that continues to manage collectively the:

- administration of research funds
- o hiring and scheduling of TAs and stipendiary instructors
- o undergraduate advising
- co-op program administration
- space allocation decision-making

The proposal also includes provision for a Social Sciences Chair Council that will provide a mechanism for joint governance over matter managed collectively.

As outlined in the proposal, all staff currently employed in the Department of Social Sciences will retain their positions. The proposed changes will require the hiring of three additional staff. The change will have no implications for the allocation of space.

All financial obligations including the additional administrative positions and the cost of implementing the change to unit structures once approved (within the calendar, on web sites etc) will be met at the Faculty/Divisional level.

RECOMMENDATION:

Be It Recommended to the Academic Board:

- (a) THAT the Department of Social Science, at the University of Toronto Scarborough be disestablished, effective July 1, 2012;
- (b) THAT the following units be established, effective July 1, 2012, in its place:
 - Departments of Anthropology,
 - Department of Human Geography,
 - Department of Political Science,
 - Department of Sociology
 - the Centre for Critical Development Studies (EDU:B).