UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

Thursday, May 8, 2003

MINUTES OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL special meeting held on Thursday, May 8, 2003 at 3:15 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall.

Present:

Dr. Thomas H. Simpson (In the Chair) Professor Robert J. Birgeneau, President Professor Mary Beattie Dr. Robert Bennett Professor Philip Byer Professor Brian Corman Professor W. Raymond Cummins Mr. Brian Davis Professor Sherwin Desser Dr. Inez Elliston Dr. Shari Graham Fell Mr. Gerald Halbert Professor Ellen Hodnett Professor Brian Langille Ms Karen Lewis

Absent:

The Honourable Henry N. R. Jackman, Chancellor Mr. Mark Braun Dr. Claude Davis The Honourable William G. Davis Dr. Alice Dong Ms Susan Eng Professor Luigi Girolametto Ms Durré Hanif Dr. Paul V. Godfrey Ms Shirley Hoy Professor David Jenkins Professor Ian R. McDonald Professor Michael Marrus Mr. David Melville Mr. Sean Mullin Mr. Colm Murphy Dr. John P. Nestor Professor Shirley Neuman Mr. Elan Ohayon Mr. Chris Ramsaroop Mr. Timothy Reid Professor Carolyn Tuohy Mr. Robert S. Weiss

Mr. Louis R. Charpentier, Secretary of the Governing Council

Mr. George Myhal Ms Jacqueline C. Orange Mr. Josh Paterson Ms Rose M. Patten Mr. John F. (Jack) Petch The Honourable David R. Peterson Dr. Joseph L. Rotman Mrs. Susan M. Scace Mr. Amir Shalaby Ms Carol Stephenson Mr. John H. Tory Professor John Wedge

In Attendance:

Dr. Beata FitzPatrick, Director of the Office of the President and Assistant Vice-President

PURSUANT TO SECTION 44 OF *BY-LAW NUMBER 2*, THE FOLLOWING RECOMMENDATION WAS CONSIDERED BY THE GOVERNING COUNCIL *IN CAMERA*.

1. Senior Appointment – Vice-President, University of Toronto at Scarborough

On motion duly moved and seconded,

It was RESOLVED

THAT Professor Kwong-loi Shun be appointed Vice-President of the University of Toronto at Scarborough, from January 1, 2004 to June 30, 2010.

On motion duly moved and seconded,

It was **RESOLVED**

THAT the meeting move into open session.

The Chair announced that the Council during its *in camera* session had approved the appointment of Professor Kwong-loi Shun as Vice-President, University of Toronto at Scarborough.

He expressed appreciation to the members of Governing Council who had served on the Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice-President, University of Toronto at Scarborough – Michael Marrus, Shirley Neuman, Susan Scace, and the President, who had served as Chair, as well as to other members of the Advisory Committee.

The meeting adjourned at 3:40 p.m.

Secretary

Chair

May 14, 2003