UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

Wednesday, February 26, 2003

MINUTES OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL special meeting held on Wednesday, February 26, 2003 at 5:20 p.m. in the Council Chamber, Simcoe Hall.

Present:

Dr. Thomas H. Simpson (In the Chair)

Ms Rose M. Patten, Vice-Chair

Professor Robert J. Birgeneau, President

Professor Mary Beattie Dr. Robert Bennett

Professor W. Raymond Cummins

Dr. Claude Davis

Professor Sherwin Desser

Dr. Inez Elliston Ms Susan Eng

Professor Luigi Girolametto

Ms Durré Hanif

Professor Ellen Hodnett Professor Brian Langille

Ms Karen Lewis Mr. David Melville Mr. Sean Mullin Mr. Colm Murphy

Mr. George Myhal

Absent:

The Honourable Henry N. R. Jackman,

Chancellor

Mr. Mark Braun Professor Philip Byer

Professor Brian Corman

Mr. Brian Davis

The Honourable William G. Davis

Dr. Alice Dong

Dr. Shari Graham Fell

Mr. Paul V. Godfrey

Mr. Gerald Halbert

Ms Shirley Hoy

Mr. Louis R. Charpentier,

Secretary of the Governing Council

Dr. John P. Nestor

Professor Shirley Neuman

Mr. Elan Ohayon

Ms Jacqueline C. Orange

Mr. Josh Paterson

Mr. John F. (Jack) Petch

Mr. Chris Ramsaroop

Professor Carolyn Tuohy

Professor John Wedge

Secretariat:

Mr Neil Dobbs Ms Cristina Oke

Mrs. Beverley Stefureak

Professor David Jenkins Professor Ian R. McDonald Professor Michael Marrus

The Honourable David R. Peterson

Mr. Timothy Reid Dr. Joseph L. Rotman Mrs. Susan M. Scace Mr. Amir Shalaby

Ms Carol Stephenson Mr. John H. Tory

Mr. Robert S. Weiss

In Attendance:

Dr. Beata FitzPatrick, Director of the Office of the President and Assistant Vice-President

IN ACCORDANCE WITH A DETERMINATION BY THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE PURSUANT TO SECTION 38 OF BY-LAW NUMBER 2, THE GOVERNING COUNCIL CONSIDERED ITEM 1 *IN CAMERA* WITH MEMBERS OF THE ADVISORY COMMITTEE AND DR. FITZPATRICK INVITED TO BE IN ATTENDANCE.

1. Senior Appointment – Vice-President, Research and Associate Provost

On motion duly moved and seconded,

It was RESOLVED

THAT Professor John Challis be appointed Vice-President, Research and Associate Provost of the University of Toronto, effective May 20, 2003 (or sooner if possible) for a period of seven years until June 30, 2010.

On motion duly moved and seconded,

It was RESOLVED

THAT the meeting move into open session.

The Chair announced that the Council during its *in camera* session had approved the appointment of Professor John Challis as Vice-President, Research and Associate Provost.

He expressed appreciation to the members of Governing Council who served on the Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice-President, Research and Associate Provost – Ellen Hodnett, Michael Marrus, Shirley Neuman, Carol Stephenson, and the President, who served as Chair, as well as to other members of the Advisory Committee.

The President escorted Professor Challis into the Council Chamber and introduced him to the Governing Council, following which Professor Challis was invited by the Chair to address Council.

Professor Challis began by thanking the Governing Council for the opportunity to serve in this position. He had come to the University of Toronto in the mid-nineties and, having learned first-hand about the traditions of excellence of this institution, he was sincerely looking forward to working with the staff, students, faculty, senior

administrative colleagues and members of governance in advancing the research agenda of the University.

Professor Challis congratulated Professor Heather Munroe-Blum and Professor Carolyn Tuohy for the tremendous advances in the research portfolio over the past ten years. He recognized that the level for achievement in the portfolio had been substantially raised through their efforts. There were challenges but opportunities as well to realizing the goal of maximizing funding for the research endeavour. He would be seeking and needing the advice of colleagues and members of Governing Council in fulfilling that goal. Professor Challis closed his remarks by reiterating how much he looked forward to this opportunity and to working with all colleagues in the University.

	The meeting adjourned at 5:55 p.m.	
Secretary	Chair	
March 6, 2003		