



For Information

TO: Members of the Agenda Committee

SPONSOR: Mae-Yu Tan, Secretary of the Agenda Committee

DATE: September 20, 2012 for September 27, 2012

AGENDA ITEM NUMBER: 4

TITLE: Report on Approvals Under Summer Executive Authority

Academic Administrative Appointments

On June 28, 2012, the Agenda Committee approved the use of electronic ballots to approve academic administrative appointments until its first scheduled meeting in the Fall, 2012. Approval would require the response of a minimum of five members of the Committee. In general, a forty-eight hour response period for an electronic ballot was provided.

The following academic administrative appointments were approved under the Agenda Committee's summer executive authority:

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Professor Richard DiFrancesco Acting Chair, Graduate Department of Geography

July 9, 2012 to June 30, 2013 (while the Graduate Chair is on

approved leave)

Professor Peter Martin Acting Director

Dunlap Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics

September 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013 (while the Director is on approved leave)

FACULTY OF DENTISTRY

Professor Jim Y. Lai Interim Associate Dean, Clinical Sciences

September 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Justin Nodwell Chair and Graduate Chair, Department of Biochemistry

March 1, 2013 to February 28, 2018

Professor Reinhart Reithmeier Chair, Department of Biochemistry

January 1, 2013 to February 28, 2013 (extension)

ONTARIO INSTITUTE FOR STUDIES IN EDUCATION

Professor Karen Mundy Associate Dean, Research

September 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO SCARBOROUGH

Professor Patricia Landolt Chair, Department of Sociology

July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2017

Dr. Karen McCrindle Interim Director, Centre for French and Linguistics

July 1, 2012 to June 30, 2013