

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

For Information

TO:	Members of the Agenda Committee
FROM:	Mae-Yu Tan, Assistant Secretary of the Governing Council
DATE:	September 10, 2009 for September 17, 2009
AGENDA ITEM:	4
SUBJECT:	Report on Approvals Under Summer Executive Authority

Academic Administrative Appointments

On May 21, 2009, the Agenda Committee approved the use of electronic ballot to approve academic administrative appointments until its first scheduled meeting in the Fall, 2009. Approval would require the response of a minimum of five members of the Committee. In general, a forty-eight hour response period for an electronic ballot was provided.

The following academic administrative appointments were approved under the Agenda Committee's summer executive authority:

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Professor Anne-Marie Brousseau	Associate Dean, Undergraduate Academic Programs July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2012
Professor Ito Peng	Associate Dean, Interdisciplinary and International Affairs January 1, 2010 to December 31, 2012
Professor Suzanne Stevenson	Vice-Dean, Teaching and Learning July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2014 (Re-appointment)
Department of Physics Professor Richard Bailey	Acting Chair and Acting Graduate Chair July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010
Department of Sociology Professor Jack Veugelers	Acting Chair and Acting Graduate Chair July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010
Department of Spanish and Portugu	ese
Drofossor Digardo Stornhorg	Interim Chair and Interim Creducts Chair

Professor Ricardo Sternberg	Interim Chair and Interim Graduate Chair
	July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010

FACULTY OF INFORMATION

Professor Joan Cherry	Associate Dean, Academic July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2011
Professor Lynne Howarth	Associate Dean, Research July 1, 2009 to December 31, 2014

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Tri-campus Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Professor Locke Rowe	Graduate Chair
	June 1, 2009 to June 30, 2011

Tri-campus Department of Geography

Professor Virginia Maclaren	Graduate Chair
-	September 1, 2009 to June 30, 2012

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Banting and Best Department of Medical Research	
Professor Brenda Andrews	Chair
	July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2014 (Re-appointment)
Professor Timothy Hughes	Acting Chair August 1, 2009 to October 31, 2009
Department of Physical Therapy Professor Dina Brooks	Acting Chair and Acting Graduate Chair July 1, 2009 to December 31, 2009
Professor Katherine Berg	Chair and Graduate Chair July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2014 (Re-appointment)

ONTARIO INSTITUTE FOR STUDIES IN EDUCATION

Professor Lana Stermac	Acting Associate Dean, Research and Graduate Studies
	July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO AT SCARBOROUGH

Professor Malcolm Campbell	Vice-Principal, Research
	August 1, 2009 to June 30, 2015