

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

For Information

TO:	Members of the Agenda Committee
FROM:	Mae-Yu Tan, Assistant Secretary of the Governing Council
DATE:	September 23, 2008
AGENDA ITEM:	5
SUBJECT:	Report on Approvals Under Summer Executive Authority

Academic Administrative Appointments

On May 30, 2008, the Agenda Committee approved the use of electronic ballot to approve academic administrative appointments until its first scheduled meeting in the Fall, 2008. Approval would require the response of a minimum of five members of the Committee. In general, a forty-eight hour response period for an electronic ballot was provided.

The following academic administrative appointments were approved under the Agenda Committee's summer executive authority:

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Cinema Studies Institute	
Professor Kay Armatage	Acting Director
	July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2009
Department of Chemistry	
Professor Robert Morris	Acting Chair
	July 1, 2008 to December 31, 2008
Department of Ecology and Evolution	nary Biology
Department of Ecology and Evolution Professor Locke Rowe	nary Biology Chair
	Chair
Professor Locke Rowe	Chair

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE (cont'd)

Department of Psychology	
Professor Jay Pratt	Chair July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013
FACULTY OF DENTISTRY	
Professor Grace Bradley	Associate Dean, Biological & Diagnostic Sciences July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013 (Re-appointment)
Professor Dennis Cvitkovitch	Associate Dean, Research September 1, 2008 to August 31, 2013
Professor Daniel Haas	Associate Dean, Clinical Sciences July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2011 (Extension)
Professor David Locker	Associate Dean, Graduate and Postgraduate Studies July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013 (Re-appointment)
FACULTY OF LAW	
Professor Catherine Valcke	Acting Associate Dean, First Year Program September 1, 2008 to December 31, 2008
FACULTY OF MEDICINE	
Professor Luigi Girolametto	Acting Vice-Dean Graduate Affairs September 1, 2008 to February 28, 2009 or until the incumbent Vice-Dean returns from leave whichever comes first.
Professor Kevin Imrie	Associate Dean, Postgraduate Medical Education (Admissions and Evaluation) July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013
Department of Laboratory Medicine	and Pathobiology
Professor Avrum Gotlieb	Chair and Graduate Chair July 1, 2008 to December 31, 2008 or until a new Chair is in place, which ever comes first. (Extension)
Professor Richard Hegele	Chair, Department of Laboratory Medicine & Pathobiology January 1, 2009 to December 31, 2013
Department of Occupational Science	and Occupational Therapy
Professor Bonnie Kirsh	Acting Chair July 1, 2008 to December 31, 2008 or until a new
Department of Physiology Professor Stanhan Matthews	Interim Chair and Graduate Interim Chair
Professor Stephen Matthews	July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2009 or until the position is filled

FACULTY OF MUSIC

Professor Russell Hartenberger	Interim Dean
	July 1, 2008 to December 31, 2008 (Extension)

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Tri-Campus Graduate Department of ChemistryProfessor Robert MorrisActing ChairJuly 1, 2008 to December 31, 2008

Tri-campus Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Professor Donald Jackson	Chair
	July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013

Tri-Campus Graduate Department of Philosophy		
Professor Amy Mullin	Acting Chair	
	July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2009	

Tri-campus Graduate Department of Psychology

Professor Morris Moscovitch

Chair July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2013