OFFICE OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL



FOR INFORMATION PUBLIC OPEN SESSION

TO: Academic Board

SPONSOR: Cheryl Regehr, Vice-President & Provost CONTACT INFO: (416) 978-2122, provost@utoronto.ca

PRESENTER: See Sponsor.
CONTACT INFO: See Sponsor.

DATE: November 6, 2013 for November 21, 2013

AGENDA ITEM: 7d

ITEM IDENTIFICATION:

2013 Report on Membership of the Advisory Committee on the University of Toronto Library System.

JURISDICTIONAL INFORMATION:

The Terms of Reference for the Advisory Committee on the University of Toronto Library System (1997) state that the Committee "shall review... policies with respect to the University Library system in the light of the University's general and divisional objectives, and shall make appropriate recommendations to the office of the Vice-President and Provost. All major policy matters will be brought forward to the appropriate committees of the Governing Council."

The Terms of Reference also require the Vice-President and Provost to report the Committee's membership for information to the Academic Board each year.

GOVERNANCE PATH:

1. Academic Board [For Information] (November 21, 2013)

PREVIOUS ACTION TAKEN:

The Academic Board appointed two members to the Committee on June 3, 2013 as per the Committee's Terms of Reference:

- Professor Domenico Pietropaolo, Vice-President (Academic) & Principal, St. Michael's College
- Professor Markus Stock, Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures, Faculty of Arts & Science

HIGHLIGHTS:

The Vice-President and Provost has nominated the following six faculty members to the Committee:

- 1) Professor Alison Keith, Professor, Department of Classics, Faculty of Arts and Science (Committee Chair)
- 2) Professor Jason Foster, Senior Lecturer, Division of Engineering Science
- 3) Professor Rick Halpern, Vice-Principal (Academic) and Dean, University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC)
- 4) Professor Lynne Howarth, Professor and Associate Dean (Research), iSchool
- 5) Professor Lynne Magnusson, Professor, Department of English, and Director, Centre for Reformation and Renaissance Studies, Faculty of Arts and Science
- 6) Professor Ann Tourangeau, Associate Professor and Associate Dean (Academic), Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing

The University of Toronto Faculty Association Librarians Committee (formerly the Librarians' Association of the University of Toronto) has nominated the following three professional librarians to the Committee:

- 1) Ms Sarah Fedko, Campus Information Literacy Coordinator, UTSC
- 2) Ms Shelly Hawrychuk, Collection Development Librarian, University of Toronto Mississauga (UTM)
- 3) Mr. Robin Healey, Collection Development Librarian (retired), University of Toronto Libraries

The Terms of Reference for the Committee do not require the appointment of student representatives, but it is considered a matter of convention to include one representative from each of the three major student groups. This year, the following three students have been nominated to the Committee:

- 1) Ms Susan Froom, President (representative of the Association of Part-time Undergraduate Students, APUS)
- 2) Ms Jessica Gallinger, Executive-At-Large (representative of the Graduate Students' Union, GSU)
- 3) Mr. Munib Sajjad, President (representative of the University of Toronto Students' Union, UTSU)

The assessors to the Committee are:

- 1) Mr. Ian Whyte, Acting Chief Librarian, UTM
- 2) Ms Victoria Owen, Head Librarian, UTSC

Academic Board – 2013 Report on Membership of the Advisory Committee on the University of Toronto Library System

| FINANCIAL IMPLICATIONS: |
|--|
| There are no implications for the University's operating budget. |
| RECOMMENDATION: |
| For information. |
| |
| |

None.