



FOR INFORMATION

TO: Agenda Committee of Academic Board

SPONSOR: Cheryl Misak, Vice-President & Provost

CONTACT INFO: provost@utoronto.ca

DATE: November 8, 2012

AGENDA ITEM: 6c)

ITEM IDENTIFICATION:

2012 Report on Membership of the Advisory Committee on the University of Toronto Library System

JURISDICTIONAL INFORMATION:

The Terms of Reference for the Advisory Committee on the University of Toronto Library System (1997) state that the Committee "shall review... policies with respect to the University Library system in the light of the University's general and divisional objectives, and shall make appropriate recommendations to the office of the Vice-President and Provost. All major policy matters will be brought forward to the appropriate committees of the Governing Council."

The Terms of Reference also require the Vice-President and Provost to report the Committee's membership for information to the Academic Board each year.

PREVIOUS ACTION TAKEN:

The Academic Board appointed two members to the Committee on May 31, 2012 as per the Committee's Terms of Reference:

- 1) Professor Alison Keith, Professor and Chair, Classics Department, Faculty of Arts and Science (Committee Chair)
- 2) Professor Domenico Pietropaolo, Vice-President (Academic) & Principal, St. Michael's College

HIGHLIGHTS:

The Vice-President and Provost has nominated the following five faculty members to the Committee:

- 1. Professor William Robins, Associate Professor of English and Medieval Studies, Department of English and Victoria College
- 2. Professor Lynne Howarth, Professor and Associate Dean, Research, ISchool
- 3. Professor Robert Gibbs, Director, Jackman Humanities Institute
- 4. Professor Jason Foster, Senior Lecturer, Division of Engineering Science
- 5. Professor Ann Tourangeau, Associate Professor and Graduate Program Coordinator, Lawrence S. Bloomberg Faculty of Nursing

The UTFA Librarians Committee (formerly the Librarians' Association of the University of Toronto) has nominated the following three professional librarians to the Committee:

- 1. Ms. Sarah Fedko, Campus Information Literacy Coordinator, University of Toronto Scarborough
- 2. Ms. Shelly Hawrychuk, Collection Development Librarian, University of Toronto Mississauga
- 3. Mr. Robin Healey, Collection Development Librarian (retired), University of Toronto Libraries

The Terms of Reference for the Committee do not require the appointment of student representatives, but it is considered a matter of convention to include one representative from each of the three major student groups. This year, the following three students have been nominated to the Committee:

- 1) Mr. Shaun Shepherd, President (representative of the University of Toronto Students' Union, UTSU)
- 2) Mr. Bahram Farzady (representative of the Graduate Students' Union, GSU)
- 3) Ms. Susan Froom, Vice President, Internal (representative of the Association of Parttime Undergraduate Students, APUS)