# FACULTY OF MUSIC UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO

#### CONSTITUTION

Revised April 8, 1994 (Replacing version dated 30 May 1991)

### **Preamble**

## The Faculty of Music is committed to

- \* being an international centre of excellence for musical creativity, performance, and scholarship;
- \* providing a stimulating environment in which its outstanding resources may support not only instruction of the highest quality but also the creation of new knowledge about all aspects of music;
- \* balancing its various performance and academic programs so that all may be mutually informative and complementary, thus promoting the multi-dimensional study of music;
- \* consolidating its role as a representative of the intellectual and artistic life of the University of Toronto, and extending its influence in the musical life of Toronto and Canada.

### I Powers and Duties

- 1. The Council of the Faculty of Music exercises its powers and duties under the University of Toronto Act, 1971, as amended.
- 2. The powers and duties of the Council of the Faculty of Music shall be:
  - (a) to develop policy regarding the academic affairs of the Faculty, subject to the approval of such policy by the Governing Council of the University;
  - (b) to fix and determine the courses of study in the Faculty, subject to the approval of the Governing Council of the University;
  - (c) to award scholarships, bursaries, prizes and other awards of the Faculty;
  - (d) to approve, for transmission to the appropriate office or committee of the University, recommendations respecting grades, diplomas and degrees to be awarded;
  - (e) to make rules and regulations for governing the proceedings of Council;
  - (f) to receive reports and recommendations from Standing Committees, and to establish further committees as are deemed necessary by the Council;

(g) to report to the Governing Council upon such matters as the Faculty Council determines.

### II Term

The term of office of the Council shall be from July 1 to June 30.

# III Membership of the Council

- 1. (a) The President of the University (ex officio)
  - (b) The Vice-President and Provost of the University (ex officio)
  - (c) A Vice-Provost designated by the Provost (ex officio)
  - (d) The Dean of the School of Graduate Studies (ex officio)
  - (e) All academic staff and professional Librarians in the Faculty of Music with University appointments of three-quarters time or greater.
  - (f) Fourteen representatives from the part-time academic staff, as listed below, to be elected by the part-time teachers in each category.
    - (i) Piano two members
    - (ii) Voice two members
    - (iii) Strings two members
    - (iv) Winds two members
    - (v) Historical Instruments one member
    - (vi) Jazz one member
    - (vii) Theory & Composition one member
    - (viii) Music Education one member
    - (ix) two Representatives at Large elected from the part-time staff not included in the above categories.
  - (g) One representative from the Graduate Teaching Assistants in the Faculty of Music
  - (h) One student representing the students in the Graduate Department of Music, designated by the Music Graduate Students' Association.
  - (i) The President of the Music Undergraduate Association (ex officio)
  - (j) One student representative from each of the following programs: History & Literature, Opera, Theory & Composition; Two student representatives from each of the following programs: Music Education, Performance; designated by the Music

- Undergraduate Association.
- (k) One representative of the non-academic staff of the Faculty, elected by the full-time non-academic staff.
- (1) One representative of the Alumni of the Faculty, appointed by the Dean.
- (m) One representative from a University division outside the Faculty, appointed by the Dean.
- (n) One representative of the community, appointed by the Dean.
- 2. (a) Membership of elected part-time staff members shall be for terms of three years with approximately one-third of the members elected each year.
  - (b) Membership of appointed members and student members shall be for one year.

#### IV Officers

- (a) The Dean of the Faculty of Music, or if absent, then an Associate Dean designated by the Dean, shall chair the Council meetings.
- (b) The Secretary of Council shall be appointed by the Dean.

## V Meetings

- (a) The Council shall meet at least twice in an academic year: a meeting may be adjourned but will then resume within fifteen days. Additional meetings may be convened as deemed necessary by the Dean of the Faculty, or at the written request to the Dean by a minimum of twelve members of Council. Any special meeting requires at least 48 hours notice to members.
- (b) The quorum shall be one-quarter of the Council membership excluding members 1(a) through 1(d) of section III.

## VI Standing Committees

- 1. The following Committees have power to act on behalf of the Council, and report to Council:
  - (a) Admissions
  - (b) Petitions
  - (c) Academic Appeals
  - (d) Library
  - (e) Concerts & Lectures

- 2. The following Committees bring forward recommendations to Council for approval:
  - (a) Scholarships and Awards
  - (b) Board of Review
  - (c) Curriculum

# VII Amendments

The Constitution may be amended, subject to the approval of Governing Council, on the recommendation of more than one-half the total voting membership of Council. Notice of amendments must be circulated to all members of Council at least 14 days before the relevant Council meeting.

April 8, 1994