

University of Toronto

OFFICE OF THE GOVERNING COUNCIL

September 19, 2005

Memorandum to: Academic Board

From: Cristina Oke, Assistant Secretary of the Governing Council

Subject: Report on Approvals Under Summer Executive Authority

I. Academic Administrative Appointments

At the June meeting, the Academic Board approved a delegation of authority to the Provost, the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board and the student member of the Agenda Committee, to approve on behalf of the Board until the first meeting of the next academic year, academic administrative appointments.

The following academic administrative appointments were approved under the Academic Board's summer executive authority:

FACULTY OF APPLIED SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING

Professor Greg Evans Vice-Dean, Undergraduate Studies

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2007

Institute of Biomaterials and Biomedical Engineering

Professor C. Ross Ethier Director

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2010

FACULTY OF ARTS AND SCIENCE

Department of Chemistry

Professor Scott Mabury Chair

July 1, 2006 to June 30, 2008 (extension)

Department of Physics

Professor Michael Luke Interim Chair

July 1, 2005 to December 31, 2005 (extension)

Women and Gender Studies Institute

Professor Shahrzad Mojab Director

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2008

FACULTY OF LAW

Professor David Dyzenhaus Associate Dean, Graduate Studies

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2008 (re-appointment)

FACULTY OF MEDICINE

Professor Robert Byrick Associate Dean, Clinical Affairs

September 1, 2005 to December 31, 2006

Professor Andrea Sass-Kortsak Acting Associate Dean, Graduate Affairs

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2006 or until the appointment of a new Associate Dean, whichever comes first.

Professor John Wedge Associate Vice-Provost, Relations with Health Care Institutions

January 1, 2006 to December 31, 2006 (extension)

FACULTY OF PHARMACY

Dr. Lesley Lavack Associate Dean, Professional Programs

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2009

Professor Robert Macgregor Associate Dean, Research

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2009

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES

Professor Rashmi Desai Vice-Dean

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2006

Professor Mingyao Liu Associate Dean, Division IV, Life Sciences

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2008

Centre of Criminology

Professor Richard Ericson Director

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2010

Centre for Urban and Community Studies

Professor David Hulchanski Director

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2011

Professor Daniel Schugurensky Acting Director

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2006

Department of Chemistry

Professor Scott Mabury Graduate Chair

July 1, 2006 to June 30, 2008 (extension)

Department of Pharmaceutical Sciences

Professor Reina Bendayan Graduate Chair

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2010

Department of Psychology

Professor Frank Vaccarino Graduate Chair

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2010 (extension)

SCHOOL OF GRADUATE STUDIES (cont'd)

Mathematical Finance Program

Professor Donald Cormack Director

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2006

Museum Studies Program

Professor John Fleming Interim Director

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2006 (re-appointment)

ONTARIO INSTITUTE FOR STUDIES IN EDUCATION/UT

Dr. Mark Evans Acting Associate Dean, Teacher Education

August 1, 2005 to January 31, 2006

UNIVERSITY COLLEGE

Professor Jill Matus Vice-Principal

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2008

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO AT MISSISSAUGA

Department of Geography

Professor Brian Branfireun Interim Chair

July 1, 2005 – June 30, 2006

UNIVERSITY OF TORONTO AT SCARBOROUGH

Department of Physical and Environmental Sciences

Professor Donald Cormack Chair

July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2010

II. Matters approved under the Governing Council's Summer Executive Authority

(a) Matters within the Terms of Reference of the Planning and Budget Committee

There were no approvals under the Governing Council's provisions for summer executive authority that would, in the normal course of events, have come to the Board for approval through the Planning and Budget Committee.

(b) Matters within the Terms of Reference of the Committee on Academic Policy and Programs

There were no approvals under summer executive authority that would have been approved by the Committee on Academic Policy and Programs and reported to the Board for information.