September 13, 2002

Memorandum to:	Academic Board
From:	Susan Girard, Secretary
Subject:	Report on Approvals Under Summer Executive Authority

I. Academic Administrative Appointments

At the June meeting, the Board approved a delegation of authority to the Provost, the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board and the student member of the Agenda Committee, to approve on behalf of the Board academic administrative appointments until the first meeting of the next academic year.

The following academic administrative appointments were approved under the Academic Board's summer executive authority:

Faculty of Arts and Science

Department of Anthropology		
Professor Susan Pfeiffer	Acting Chair from July 1, 2002 to June 30, 2003	
Department of English		
Professor Alan Bewell	Acting Chair from July 1, 2002 to June 30, 2003	
Department of Fine Art		
Professor Margaret Miller	Acting Chair from August 1, 2002 to December 31, 2002	
Department of Slavic Languages and Literatures		
Professor Christina Kramer	Chair from January 1, 2003 to June 30, 2007	

Department of Statistics

Professor Keith Knight

Chair from July 1, 2002 to June 30, 2007

Facu	lty	of	Den	tistry
	2			5

Centre for the Study of Pain			
Professor Michael Salter	Director from July 1, 2002 to December 31, 2002 (extension)		
School of Graduate Studies			
Professor Bernard Katz	Associate Dean, Division I, from July 1, 2002 to June 30, 2004 (reappointment)		
Professor Joan Cherry	Associate Dean, Division II, from July 1, 2002 to June 30, 2005		
Centre for South Asian Studies			
Professor Chelva Kanaganayakam	Director from July 1, 2002 to June 30, 2007		
Faculty of Information Studies			
Professor Clare Beghtol	Associate Dean from July 1, 2002 to June 30, 2005		
Faculty of Law			
Professor Anthony Duggan	Associate Dean from July 1, 2002 to June 30, 2004		
Professor David Dyzenhaus	Associate Dean, Graduate Studies, from July 1, 2002 to June 30, 2005		
Faculty of Medicine			
Department of Laboratory Medicine and Po	uthobiology		
Professor Avrum Gotlieb	Chair from September 1, 2002 to December 31, 2007 (re-appointment - amendment)		
Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology			
Professor J. W. Knox Ritchie	Chair from July 1, 2002 to June 30, 2003 or until the position is filled (extension)		
Department of Surgery			
Professor John Wedge	Chair from July 1, 2002 to December 31, 2002 or until the position is filled (extension)		
Professor Richard K. Reznick	Chair from October 1, 2002 to December 31, 2007		

Faculty of Music

Professor Russell Hartenberger	Acting Associate Dean from July 1, 2002 to June 30, 2003
Professor Cameron Walter	Associate Dean from July 1, 2003 to June 30, 2008 (re-appointment)

OISE/UT

Department of Human Development and Applied Psychology

Professor Janet Astington Chair from September 1, 2002 to June 30, 2007 (re-appointment)

Institute of Child Study

Professor Carl Corter

University of Toronto at Scarborough

Division of Physical Sciences

Professor Jim Thompson

Director from September 1, 2002 to June 30, 2004

Chair from July 1, 2002 to December 31, 2002 or until a new chair is appointed (extension)

II. Other Matters

There were no matters of Academic Board business approved under the Governing Council's summer executive authority: