

OFFICE OF THE PRESIDENT

Meric S. Gertler, CM, FRSC, FBA, FAcSS President

То:	Governing Council Academic Board
	Business Board
	University Affairs Board
	UTM Campus Council
	UTSC Campus Council
	Principals, Deans, Academic Directors, and Chairs
	Professionals and Managerial Staff
	Confidential Staff
	President of UTFA
	Presidents of Employee Unions
	Presidents of APUS, GSU, SCSU, UTMSU and UTSU
	President, University of Toronto Alumni Association (UTAA)
From:	Professor Meric Gertler, President
Date:	April 5, 2019
Re:	President's Advisory Committee on the Appointment of a Vice-President, Advancement – Call for Submissions

In 2014, the Governing Council approved the reappointment of Mr. David Palmer as Vice-President, Advancement, for a third term effective January 1, 2015 and continuing until December 31, 2019. Mr. Palmer is eligible to be reappointed.

The advice that was received at the time of his 2014 reappointment "…was consistently positive, commending Vice-President Palmer very highly for his successful leadership of the Boundless Campaign. The achievement of \$1.643 billion, "speaks for itself" and, all respondents readily attributed the ongoing success to Mr. Palmer's vision and leadership abilities".

With the end of his third term on the horizon and with the recent conclusion of the record breaking Boundless Campaign at \$2.641 billion, I have determined that it is timely to consider this appointment. To that end, I have struck a Committee to advise me on the question of his potential reappointment.

The Advisory Committee, which I will chair, comprises the following individuals:

Professor Donald Ainslie, Principal, University College Ms Chantelle Courtney, Assistant Vice-President, Divisional Relations, DUA Ms Selina Esteves, Director of Advancement, Faculty of Dentistry Dr. Nadina Jamison, Assistant Vice-President, Strategic Initiatives, Office of the President Mr. Brian Lawson, Governor Mr. Andrew Stelmacovich, Executive Director of Advancement, UTM Professor Trevor Young, Dean, Faculty of Medicine and Vice-Provost, Relations with Healthcare Institutions

Ms Sheree Drummond, Secretary of the Governing Council, will serve as secretary to the Committee.

The Committee welcomes your input. Submissions should be sent by **Friday**, **April 19**, **2019** using the confidential online form available at <u>http://bit.ly/UofTVPAdvancement</u>.